Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Amazing! We used water instead of beer, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by messica
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Super!!! Really love these. Only thing i would change is not putting salt on top, It can be a tad too salty if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I took these to a bowl game-watch party and they were a huge hit! I cut the hot dogs in half to make small versions and that was a perfect size. Word of caution: DO NOT use a hard-anodized pot to boil the pretzel dogs. The baking soda in the water stripped the coating off the pot and I had little black flecks of whatever used to coat my pot all over my little pretzel dogs and had to start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
be sure to use a good quality hot dog or you won't do these pretzels justice. the baking soda bath is what -makes- these pretzels. if you skip it, you will get bread dogs. the double baking sheet idea is genius; my bottoms were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I thought these came out very well. I made only 16 hot dogs since that's all I had (and it makes dividing the dough easier anyway). I wish I had thought so turn a strand of dough into a pretzel with no dog so I could see what I thought of this dough as just a pretzel dough! Dried my hotdogs before rolling, just sprinkled the kosher salt at the end. I tried them with "Clone of a Pretzel Dip" from this site. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jan, can't wait for the DH to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were a hit! I was nervous about doing these for a birthday party because I had no pretzel making experience but I followed recipe as written and everyone loved them. Husband has already asked when I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Made these a few times always with great success. At times I have replaced the beer with water. Still yummy! After asking about freezing them, WFDM did answer, that one can freeze these, but without the salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Jan, you are a wizard of all things yeast. This is another great recipe! I followed everything to a 't' and had no problems at all. These are so easy to make it's unbelievable. I'm going to make more to put in the freezer for handy lunches. I only had 12 dogs, so I made pretzel bites out of the excess dough ~ the taste and texture was EXACTLY as a soft pretzel should be. Classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kara Fischer
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are WONDERFUL! I made them last night for NYE and they were a huge hit! I was admittedly a little nervous about making them (working with yeast) but they were surprisingly easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly, no changes. Make sure to pinch those edges, like others have said! Even though a couple of mine came loose, they looked and tasted great! I also liked that even after sitting out for a little bit, the pretzel stayed soft--didn't get hard as a rock. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States