Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
These were super easy and fun to make. I'm not a hotdog fan, (so I'll adjust rating if hubby goes nuts) so I wasn't completely blown away by taste ... but presentation wise, they're adorable. I made a half recipe and had enough dough to do 10 hotdogs and 6 medium sized pretzels. Made in KA with no problems - lovely dough to work with. *DO* use parchment paper - I was leary after reading others had problems and made half on paper, half on well oiled sheet (baking at 425) and after drying them off a bit after removing from bath. Ones with paper were fine .... ones without stuck terribly. Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Laura Bravo
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Nice pretzel dough. You can't taste the beer which in my case was a good thing. The pretzel covering was perfect. Nice texture and it got a really nice golden brown when in the oven. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bravo
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Holy cow!!! What a FANTASTIC recipe!!!!! I can't believe how easy this was! I'll admit, I'm not much of a baker... Me and yeast don't work well together. :) BUT, with my nifty bread machine and a little help from the hubs, these turned out GREAT! This was by FAR the easiest dough I've ever worked with. It rolled like a dream! My hubby and I had a lot of fun together - He cut the dough strips and I wrapped the hot dogs. For a different twist, I topped each pretzel dog with a mixture of poppy and sesame seeds (YUM!). My choice of beer was can of cheap 'ol Budweiser. These are so good, I've been noshing on leftovers all week long. For me, wrapping each "dog" loosely with a paper towel and microwaving at 50% power for 1.5 minutes does the trick. PLEASE, PLEASE don't let the fact that you are not a baker intimidate you from trying this recipe. If I can do it, you can too! Kudos to WFDM for sharing such an awesome recipe with the AR community! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
They were amazing! My whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely awesome recipe...didn't change a thing and would not recommend doing so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plumber2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
My family LOVES these!! We've made them many different ways and they're all good! The pretzel around the dogs comes out great every time. I don't use a bread maker, so I knead for 10 minutes and let rise for 90. Wonderful portability too! We toss them in a bag and bring along some salad and chips for a picnic at the park. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Love love love this recipe...done it by hand all 50 times ive made it!! I get requests all the time to bring them!!! Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Carroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Oh....My.....Goodness!!!!! This recipe is a bit time consuming but oh so worth it!!! Loved every inch of these beauties! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Easy and really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
actually really good & easier to make than expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States