Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Holy cow!!! What a FANTASTIC recipe!!!!! I can't believe how easy this was! I'll admit, I'm not much of a baker... Me and yeast don't work well together. :) BUT, with my nifty bread machine and a little help from the hubs, these turned out GREAT! This was by FAR the easiest dough I've ever worked with. It rolled like a dream! My hubby and I had a lot of fun together - He cut the dough strips and I wrapped the hot dogs. For a different twist, I topped each pretzel dog with a mixture of poppy and sesame seeds (YUM!). My choice of beer was can of cheap 'ol Budweiser. These are so good, I've been noshing on leftovers all week long. For me, wrapping each "dog" loosely with a paper towel and microwaving at 50% power for 1.5 minutes does the trick. PLEASE, PLEASE don't let the fact that you are not a baker intimidate you from trying this recipe. If I can do it, you can too! Kudos to WFDM for sharing such an awesome recipe with the AR community! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
They were amazing! My whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely awesome recipe...didn't change a thing and would not recommend doing so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plumber2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
My family LOVES these!! We've made them many different ways and they're all good! The pretzel around the dogs comes out great every time. I don't use a bread maker, so I knead for 10 minutes and let rise for 90. Wonderful portability too! We toss them in a bag and bring along some salad and chips for a picnic at the park. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Love love love this recipe...done it by hand all 50 times ive made it!! I get requests all the time to bring them!!! Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Carroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Oh....My.....Goodness!!!!! This recipe is a bit time consuming but oh so worth it!!! Loved every inch of these beauties! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Easy and really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
actually really good & easier to make than expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinKiki
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
So yummy! It was first time making them ever and they turned out perfect! I topped them with sesame seeds and cayenne green peppercorn Gouda! My boyfriend and I are lactose in tolerant so it's nice to make pretzel dogs with cheese we can eat on top! I made a full batch but only did a few pretzel dogs. I used the rest of the dough to make some pretzels for his lunches! So much for low carbs haha I could eat these every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This a fantastic recipe and a definite keeper. I do not have a bread machine so kneading was the only change I made. I am not a very experienced baker, but found this recipe easy to follow and still produced great results despite my shortcomings as a baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States