Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Delicious! Definitely not 30 minutes, more like 15!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
The flavors are great but it's really gluey. It needs a saucy topping, salsa, ranch dressing, something. Also, the recipe never said to drain the drippings but I figured it would be gross if I didn't so I drained it after the onions & garlic were browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I really like the filling for this. What I had was really 3 stars worth but feel it is my fault as the purchased pizza crust was too thick for this thin crust lover. Next time I will make my own crust and it will be really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
good, extremely creamy! next time id leave plenty of seeds in the jalepenos for extra spice. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Ok. Very pretty, though! :D I thought I'd love it, but maybe just another recipe is "out there, waiting for me"! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kassbee
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, except I made my own dough. I wasn't crazy about the taste of the onion/cream cheese/spice mixture, but my husband thought this was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
so incredibly delicious. I made only a few minor tweaks...subbed plain Greek yogurt for sour cream and because it's my favorite less-mess way to make bacon, I cooked that on a baking sheet in the oven at 400 for about 15-20 minutes, using center cut bacon so there wasn't too much grease, and then used some of the drippings to saute the onion, garlic, & spices (cooking the spices this way really helps enhance the flavors). I didn't measure the cheese, just eye-balled it -- probably used less than the recipe called for which was perfectly OK, this is a very rich & filling recipe! and then I added little dollops of raspberry jam on top just because that's my favorite dipping sauce for jalapeno poppers so I figured it would be good. Used a pre-made pizza dough (the kind you find in the refrigerated section next to the cookie dough and biscuits) and my hands-down favorite method for cooking pizza (which I learned from Chef John's recipe for Ham, Asparagus, & ricotta pizza, also on this site)...5 minutes on the bottom rack of a 550 degree oven, and then 5 minutes on the top rack. (this gives a perfectly cooked, crispy on the outside, slightly chewy on the inside crust...mmmmm) The end result was Jalapeno Popper Pizza perfection! My compliments to the creator of this recipe -- it is most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made my own pizza dough for this one and it was a hit with my kids. A little more work than a typical homemade pizza, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My pizza crust was a 12inch. I think that maybe the issue. It was VERY rich. Too much cream cheese. Maybe if my crust was larger? (12 i think is pretty standard) then, it would have been thinner and better. I will try again with more sour cream and less cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Poppers AND Pizza? It's like a little Game Day celebration in your mouth. Touchdown! We made these exactly as written with lizard_C9's Italian Feather Bread Pizza Dough (my personal fave here on AR). My DH doesn't do well with pepper seeds, so I had to seed the peppers for his pizza. Mine was a combo of seeded and au natural peppers. Mine was better, not because it had more heat (jalapeños aren't very hot), but because it tasted more of the peppers themselves. If you don't want heat, by all means seed your peppers, but I'd suggest using extra peppers to make sure they're not muted by the sauce. Speaking of the sauce, it has a lovely oniony smoky thing going on that would make an excellent base for a mushroom pizza. Anyway, if you like poppers even a little bit, you're going to love this pizza! EDIT - I've probably made this 8-10 times since my initial review. it is literally our favorite pizza now. An easy weekday lunch crust is Flatout's Artisan Thin Pizza crust, super thin, and just delicious. I keep the base sauce sans bacon grease on hand for several different pizzas, then when I fry up the bacon for this one, I brush bacon grease onto the pizza skin, sauce it, then top it. I bake it in my Breville Smartoven. So easy, and takes less than 30 minutes start to finish. BTW - Jalapeño peppers freeze exceptionally well. Simply slice or dice them, put them in a quart freezer bag, and freeze. They hold their shape and don't get at all watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza

Learn how to make a unique version of homemade pizza.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States