Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
good, extremely creamy! next time id leave plenty of seeds in the jalepenos for extra spice. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Ok. Very pretty, though! :D I thought I'd love it, but maybe just another recipe is "out there, waiting for me"! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kassbee
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, except I made my own dough. I wasn't crazy about the taste of the onion/cream cheese/spice mixture, but my husband thought this was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
so incredibly delicious. I made only a few minor tweaks...subbed plain Greek yogurt for sour cream and because it's my favorite less-mess way to make bacon, I cooked that on a baking sheet in the oven at 400 for about 15-20 minutes, using center cut bacon so there wasn't too much grease, and then used some of the drippings to saute the onion, garlic, & spices (cooking the spices this way really helps enhance the flavors). I didn't measure the cheese, just eye-balled it -- probably used less than the recipe called for which was perfectly OK, this is a very rich & filling recipe! and then I added little dollops of raspberry jam on top just because that's my favorite dipping sauce for jalapeno poppers so I figured it would be good. Used a pre-made pizza dough (the kind you find in the refrigerated section next to the cookie dough and biscuits) and my hands-down favorite method for cooking pizza (which I learned from Chef John's recipe for Ham, Asparagus, & ricotta pizza, also on this site)...5 minutes on the bottom rack of a 550 degree oven, and then 5 minutes on the top rack. (this gives a perfectly cooked, crispy on the outside, slightly chewy on the inside crust...mmmmm) The end result was Jalapeno Popper Pizza perfection! My compliments to the creator of this recipe -- it is most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made my own pizza dough for this one and it was a hit with my kids. A little more work than a typical homemade pizza, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My pizza crust was a 12inch. I think that maybe the issue. It was VERY rich. Too much cream cheese. Maybe if my crust was larger? (12 i think is pretty standard) then, it would have been thinner and better. I will try again with more sour cream and less cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Poppers AND Pizza? It's like a little Game Day celebration in your mouth. Touchdown! We made these exactly as written with lizard_C9's Italian Feather Bread Pizza Dough (my personal fave here on AR). My DH doesn't do well with pepper seeds, so I had to seed the peppers for his pizza. Mine was a combo of seeded and au natural peppers. Mine was better, not because it had more heat (jalapeños aren't very hot), but because it tasted more of the peppers themselves. If you don't want heat, by all means seed your peppers, but I'd suggest using extra peppers to make sure they're not muted by the sauce. Speaking of the sauce, it has a lovely oniony smoky thing going on that would make an excellent base for a mushroom pizza. Anyway, if you like poppers even a little bit, you're going to love this pizza! EDIT - I've probably made this 8-10 times since my initial review. it is literally our favorite pizza now. An easy weekday lunch crust is Flatout's Artisan Thin Pizza crust, super thin, and just delicious. I keep the base sauce sans bacon grease on hand for several different pizzas, then when I fry up the bacon for this one, I brush bacon grease onto the pizza skin, sauce it, then top it. I bake it in my Breville Smartoven. So easy, and takes less than 30 minutes start to finish. BTW - Jalapeño peppers freeze exceptionally well. Simply slice or dice them, put them in a quart freezer bag, and freeze. They hold their shape and don't get at all watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
We were so excited! There was definitely too much cheese happening. It overpowered all the other ingredients so there was no real taste - those gorgeous onions just disappeared - and the cumin was odd in a pizza. I'm definitely making it again, but this time with oregano/basil/and maybe a little paprika for color, and I'll be reducing the amount of cream cheese/other cheeses as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed this exactly, so that I might judge the recipe for itself. The flavor was good. I think this might be best on a thin crust, as the thicker crust overwhelmed the toppings a bit. I used home-grown jalapenos, which may have been milder than others, but we found the flavor needed just a little more of a boost. I will be making this again, but will double the bacon and jalapenos next time. Great idea for a great pizza! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanne
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was fantastic! Very spicy (I kept the seeds on the jalapeno's and used 3 very large ones but I love spicy! The creamy cheese helped calm the spice, it turned out perfect with the recipe as is. Definitely will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza

Learn how to make a unique version of homemade pizza.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States