Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
The BEST chocolate cake I make is with this recipe. I do change it up a bit only to make it healthier -- I use only 1 c. sugar, and sub half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour -- it's delicious. I don't use frosting and everyone always loves it. Definitely use good quality cocoa -- it will always come out dark and chocolaty if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I made this using coffee instead of water and it was awesome. I have made it a few times and every time I make it, I try to let folks try it if there's any left. Have had only great compliments about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Excellent cake Jan! It was WONDERFUL. My whole family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakeratheart
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
The BEST chocolate cake I have had/made. It is moist and the chocolate is not over powering. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Made this for a b-day cake with cream cheese frosting. Was loved by all and many said it was the best cake they had ever tasted. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was good. It turned out light and fluffy. My one complaint is that it didn't seem chocolatey enough and was a light brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
One of my first attempts at baking a cake, and it came out great. Kudos to the person who suggested using a cup of coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is delicious, I made it for my husband's birthday and will be using it to make it for my daughter's birthday and for Valentine's Day (February is a busy cake month). It is very dense and fudgy, I can't stop eating it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Labrador City, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I read the reviews and was pretty skeptical, but decided to try it anyway. It was so moist and fluffy!! The taste was amazing as well! The only thing I did different was use milk and lemon juice instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any. I also was glad that I had good cocoa powder in the house to use and the chocolate taste was amazing! I would suggest this recipe to anyone looking for a good chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This cake was so easy and delicious. I don't usually love the cakes I make, but even I loved this cake, as did everyone else at the party. I topped it with a buttercream frosting and it was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States