Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Let me start by saying I am a food writer and an excellent cook, but I am NOT a good baker. This recipe made me think I actually can bake...the cake is easy to make and tastes great! I followed the recipe as written, using two round cake pans. When they were done (about 36 minutes in my oven), I let them cool, then trimmed them and stacked them together on a cake stand. I covered the stacked cake with a large inverted metal bowl and let it sit overnight. The next day, I frosted the cake using the Special Buttercream recipe on this site and finished it with a dusting of cocoa powder. I was nervous that the cake would dry out overnight, but it turned out to be a stroke of genius. Letting the cake sit overnight fused the two layers together without me having to put any frosting in between them. It also made the cake more dense and fudgy, while still retaining a nice cake texture and good crumb. My husband always wants a "plain chocolate cake with white buttercream frosting" on his birthday, and this is THE recipe he now wants me to make him for all the years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was a moist, solid cake that the company all complimented. Maybe another reviewer has noted that the ingredients call for water but in the steps it refers to BOILING water. Note: I would NOT use boiling water or it would cook the eggs. (I used cold water.) This will be a cake I make again next time I want a no-fail, good-tasting, quick chocolate cake. [The power went out for 60 minutes - just AFTER I'd mixed the buttermilk into the batter! After waiting the hour, cake still baked fine!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
while the flavor was good, it was rather dense. it was also a soft cake..fell apart quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by World Of Warcraft Chick
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake is SO GOOD! i used it in a big top cupcake pan, but for me it needed to be in the oven longer then 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World Of Warcraft Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I was dubious given the very thin batter and lack of flavors in this recipe, but I increased the cocoa by 1/4c, added 1/4tsp cinnamon and 1tsp of vanilla and it made one great chocolate cake! I frosted it with a simple chocolate buttercream frosting and it probably won't last long around here. I think this will be my goto chocolate cake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4two

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My son requested a "scratch" cake. I have used box mixes for last 35 years. I found this and gave it a whirl. It is wonderful. I used buttermilk mix instead and water in place of buttermilk. I even followed directions for boiling water. (I almost didn't) That must be necessary to help blend the butter. I made in a 9 x 13 pan (greased with crisco and generously "floured with cocoa." I baked it for 35 minutes at 350. It came out of pan easily. Then I thirded it and made a two layer cake out of 2 pieces and made a single layer for sampling with the third piece. Because of this cake, I hereby pledge to swear off cake mixes. I am contemplating making a yellow cake, omitting the 1/2 c cocoa and adding 1/2 c flour. Will let you know if this works at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsLisaKY
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made this cake up sizing the servings size to 72 I made 3- 8' layers. In between the layers I frosted then put a layer of cherry pie filing,alternating frosting,cherry pie filling.this cake was very tasty. I would make this again. note when you up size to 72 as i did,it would have made 3-9" cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
good cake, but it wasnt chocolatey enough. i put less boiled water because it was too liquidy enough and added 1/2 cup more cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
SO moist. Made this for my co-worker's birthday and it's probably the best cake I've ever made (I love it and I'm not much of a cake person). UPDATE: I made this lactose-free with Smart Balance Light margarine and buttermilk made from 1 tbs vinegar and 1 c Lactaid milk. Still delicious. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this exact cake for a friends birthday and lets just say that there were only five people at the party and at the end of the party there was only 2 slices left of an 8 inch round double layer cake. I made this cake exactly like the picture. I also took it up a notch by adding couble fudge icing in the middle and on top of the cake. I am planning to make it again for a baby shower. I plan to incorporate some peanut butter icing instead of chocolate. If i could give this top rating out of a five. It would be a seven and 3/4. just three words OFF THE CHARTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States