Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this cake about 2 years ago and it was delicious. I made it shortly again afterwards and it was horrible. Recently, I found the recipe again, and decided to make it. This cake is fantastic! If you follow the directions and let it cook completely and cool completely, you will end up with a beautiful chocolate cake that tastes great. I made this cake in a bundt pan and it took about an hour to cook. I let it cool overnight in the pan and took it out in the morning. I made the "Chocolate Ganache" icing by INGRIDEVOGEL on this site, but without the rum. I let it cool and whipped it so it just barely drizzled over the cake. I used dark chocolate chips for the ganache as well. Ended up with a beautiful chocolate cake that even I could eat, and I really don't like chocolate that much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I made this cake just as instructed. It looked beautiful and was done in 40 min. It just tasted bland. Sorry. I wanted to make a cake with some leftover buttermilk I had. I guess frosting would make up for it? I like my cakes really fudgy and chocolate tasting this one did not pass my test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Mmmmmmm, delicious! This is my go-to chocolate cake and cupcake recipe. Turns out just a lovely with soymilk instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This cake was amazing! it was the first chocolate cake i have made from scratch that turned out moist and dense. It did take longer than stated in the recipe to bake but other than that it was really easy to make. I also used 1 tbsp of vinegar+ 1 cup-1tbsp of milk as a substitute for the buttermilk. I will definitely make this cake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I give it 4 thumbs up! It was the best chocolate cake recipe that I have ever used. I also, did not have buttermilk, so I used regular milk and added some lemon juice to it. The cake was very fluffy, silky, and moist. I had no problems with the recipe and I would recommend everyone to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe was great. I followed the directions and succesfully made four 9x13 inch delicious chocolate cakes, topping each of them with homemade icing. I was a bit worried about 2 of the cakes because I added the boiling water about 15 minutes before I cooked them, but they turned out fine. It was easy and fun! Thank you for this yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlecook93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
i just want to know with what do i frost it? help please i just dont want to ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I didn't believe all of the bad reviews that this recipe got since so many people had raved about it. I made it for a birthday cake and it turned out so hard. We barely had a bite and threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
this was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prolfes
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
It was the best, i baked and designed this tasty cake! I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States