Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is still my all-time favorite chocolate cake! It has never failed me and always gets raves! The chocolate flavor is directly proportional to the quality of cocoa powder used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Very moist cake and delicious..... really a "no-fail chocolate cake". Thanks for sharing Jan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This cake is soooooo moist. The batter looked like pudding. It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This recipe is awesome! Very easy for an neophyte baker like myself, also absolutely delicious and long lasting. I've never tasted a better chocolate cake and it's only the second one I ever baked myself. I added a frosting but it's not neccesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Good and easy. Nice flavour without being overly rich! I had to keep this in the fridge due to the frosting and the consistency of the cake wasn't great this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is a very good chocolate cake. I had to cook it for at least 45 minutes. Don't worry if it seems too thin after mixing in the water. It turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
very nice, made it in a swiss roll tin (too fiddly doing 2 tins) did as recommended and left until the next day. My only gripe is that it didn't rise much at all! More of a brownie consistancy. If i wanted brownies, I'd make brownies. If you want a heavy chocolate cake this si the one for you. Don't be put off by the thick almost lumpy consistancy of the mix, it is correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I made this for my husbands birthday and it is the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was not the most wonderful chocolate cake ever, but pretty darn good, and easy. I can taste a hint of the baking soda, but my husband didn't notice it. It's nice and big -- rose to fill the 9X13 pan, and had a nice texture. I suspect the people who had problems with it were possibly in high altitude areas, which would require some adjustments to any cake recipe. I'm near sea level. I'd bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i thought this recipe was perfect. i made it in miniature bunt cake pans and it turned out great for individual servings. my freind and i needed a chocolate cake recipe for new years with only two eggs and this one was great. thanks jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States