Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this recipe many times this past year and it's always great, even better the day after you bake it. I frosted it with Bailey's Whipped cream (2 C real whipping cream, 2 T sugar, whipped to med-stiff peaks, then whip in 1/3 C Bailey's)topped w/crushed toffee bar bits. It got RAVE reviews at my friends birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this cake for my daughters 3rd Birthday party and everyone loved it! The taste is perfect and it was moist and chewy. Yummy. Will definately make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I like to use this recipe for cupcakes topped with cream cheese frosting. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very moist, very chocolatey, and very easy. I loved it. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Normally I like my chocolate cake a little richer and darker, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out. And it actually tastes better the next day! The recipe was so easy to follow that I let my 3 1/2 yr old daughter help me. The only changes I made were using soured milk (milk + one tblsp vinegar) instead of buttermilk, and I also used hot coffee (heated to almost boiling) instead of water. The whole family loved it, and from now on we'll use this for our basic chocolate cake instead of Betty Crocker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I perhaps made a few too many changes for the first time out, and it still came out amazing well. I used ghiradelli baking chocolate which already has the sugar mixed with the cocoa and this somehow seemed less chocolately. I also substituted vanilla yogurt for half the butter and replaced one teaspoon of baking soda with baking powder because I wanted a less dense cake. I also live at high altitude in Colorado, so I had to add 2 extra TBSP of flour and reduce the liquid by a 1/4 cup. After all those changes, I have to say it STILL came out great. That's a pretty failsafe recipe, if you ask me! I slathered it with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site and it was rich and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! Nice and moist too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is not a deep, dark chocolate cake, but it sure isn't short on rich chocolate flavor! This is an incredibly moist, stick to the tines of your fork cake, that baked nicely in two 9-inch layers in 25 minutes. I didn't bother with the parchment paper and it released from the pans easily just sprayed with Baker's Joy. I didn't change a thing with this recipe, and won't the next time around either. It is delicious just as written. Frosted with "Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting," also from this site, this was a cake I'd be proud to serve anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Excellent. I used this recipe to make cupcakes and changed the baking time to 20 minutes. I replaced half of the butter with unsweetened applesauce to reduce the fat content (which was not terribly high to begin with). The resulting cupcakes were moist, light and flavorful and lower in calories and fat than most chocolate cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I made this cake for the first time for a friend's birthday...it was such a HUGE HIT! It's been 3 days since the party and folks are STILL emailing me kudos! This is a wonderful recipe and I will keep it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States