Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was the best scratch cake. It got raves at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
great recipe! i tried making without the fat, just used applesuace. it was great! we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
OMG!!! So moist and very good chocolate flavor. I have been searching for good homemade chocolate cake recipe for a very long time. I was nervous about making it because it is so easy to burn chocolate cake. I used three 9 inch round pans and baked for 25 mins exactly. I checked it at 20 just to be sure and it was still a little gooey, baked it for 5 more mins and it was perfect!!! This will be my new chocolate cake recipe from now on!!!! I frosted it using a very old recipe for "Fluffy butter frosting" and it complemented it so well. The icing was the perfect sweetness--sweet but not to sweet--for this cake. This was excellent!!! It is my 5 yr old's birthday cake and he loves it!!! Thanks mom 71
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Love this recipe. I've tried other chocolate cakes from this site but this one is by far my FAVORITE. The cake is so moist and delicious with a great texture. In my opinion, it's the perfect chocolate cake. I don't have any of the problems other's have mentioned. I'm sure the problems are not with the recipe but it's that something is being done wrong. Make sure to measure your ingredients correctly. NEVER EVER scoop flour, you have to spoon it into a level measuring cup and level it off. Scooping leads to too much flour in the cake which equals dry, crumbly..ect.. Be sure to level off the baking soda as well..If you taste baking soda in the cake you probably used too much. Cream the butter and sugar WELL. You cannot substitute the buttermilk in this recipe with regular milk UNLESS you add a tbs of lemon juice or white vinegar to it. Beat eggs in one at a time, mixing each one in completely. When alternately adding flour and milk, start and end with the flour. Also, DON'T OVERBAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This will be the only chocolate cake I will ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I love this recipe, very moist and delecious. After a couple day I used left over cake to made Chocolate cake balls by take out all the butter cream frosting then crumble the cake and add just a little bit of buttercream frosting back until it can form the ball then dip in melted chocolate. Place on waxed paper to set. Yummm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piyadabu
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
My daughter makes this cake frequently. It is the best chocolate cake we have ever tried; moist, good crumb, not to sweet. These also make wonderful addictive cupcakes. For the person who had trouble icing it, try freezing it first. That is what cake decorators do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
What an awesome moist chocolate cake this recipe makes. I followed the recipe to a T except for using a bundt pan. It's great with frosting or without. We all loved it...I'm making it again tomorrow by request. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This cake was very good, flavorful, but very difficult to frost. I waited until it cooled completely but the edges still crumbled in my attempt to frost. Wouldn't try that again with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
As my husband says this is the best cake ever!! Thanks for an absolutely amazing chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States