Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Wow! Very moist! So yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana
Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This wasn't as chocolatey as I like. I may add a bit more cocoa next time. A good recipe though. Very easy. You definetly need to spray your pans/muffin cups. I forgot and had some sticking issues. My fault though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
GREAT! This cake is an actual no fail cake! I substituted the butter milk with some 2% milk and a tsp of vinegar. This cake is not too rich or too thick, it is perfectly moist, and has the right amount of sweetness. I'm saving this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Shum
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This cake is very moist and chocolatey. For the hot water I used fresh brewed coffee. This was a very good cake that my whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this cake is absolutely amazing! The texture is thick and dense, and its the perfect chocolate flavor..not too sweet and not too bitter. A nice light fluffy frosting compliments this cake perfectly. I loved this cake so much that I registered on this website just so I could write a review!!I also find that it takes a little longer to cook then the recipe says, so make sure to check it. Ive made this recipe time and time again and never had a single problem. Thanks mom71!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
VERY good. Very moist. I made this in a 9x13 glass pan and cooked for about 45 or 50 min. I, like others, used coffee instead of water. You don't taste the coffee once its baked but you will taste it in the batter. I used "Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting" to frost this beauty. It covered the entire top of the 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this cake was okay. needed to be sweeter, so i ended up putting a liquid chocolate glaze. i never frost my cakes, but i had to put something on this one. it was however very moist and i really liked that. i was a little worried once i had finished mixing the cake because it had a thin liquid, almost like chocolate milk. it baked great in the bundt cake pan and it only took 1 hour. i would only make this cake again if i didn't have a boxed cake on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
WOW! This is excellent. I am not even a chocolate cake lover and I love this cake. Who needs frosting when this cake is so moist. It did need about 50 min to cook completely through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Made as directed. I thought this was moist but wasn't as chocolatey as I hoped it would be. I used Hershey's cocoa - which I thought was good quality (not an off brand), so maybe more cocoa or adding chocolate chips would help? Liked baking a cake from scratch though and using up some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This cakes makes a wonderful, dense chocolate cake. I substituted 1 cup of flour with 1 cup of cocoa and added a dash of vanilla after combining the eggs. Next time I will definitely use coffee instead of the water, but even with the water it was still a fabulous cake. Topped it with a peppermint icing (requested by my six year-old son) and it made an AWESOME birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States