Janine's Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by melissa
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I doubled the recipe and used whole wheat flour, a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, and a touch of milk. Brought the mixture together but not over mixing, separated it, and added to one batch some left over peanut butter chips, and the other batch I used up some white chocolate chips and walnuts! It turned out awesome. Nice crust on the outside and soft and moist on the inside! Definitely will be using this recipe again . Oh! And I baked it at 325, but my oven cooks hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS, i even tried it with baking splenda as my husband has diabetes and its still great, very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great and simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was a firm bread, not overly sweet, with a mild flavor. I prefer a moister and sweeter banana bread. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is the best banana bread recipe I have tried. I followed the recipe the only things I added was 2 eggs, vanilla extract and I added 4 bananas. This bread is fantastic! I will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I loved the fact that this recipe doesn't call for any oil or vanilla. It tastes great just as is - although I omitted the salt, as it is unnecessary. Nice banana flavour to this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I've made this recipe a few times and it's pretty good. I added a pinch if cinnamon and 2 Tbs oil and it turned out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I think this recipe needs less flour to make it not be so dry. The taste is delicious but the bread texture is not what I was hoping for. I'm thinking about trying this recipe with adding oil and a little less flour to make it more moist. Otherwise, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Finally found the banana bread I was searching for! I followed some of the alternations from other comments- 2 eggs instead of 1, 2/3 cup of sugar instead of a whole cup. I added extra butter because it wasn't creaming very well so that became 1/4 cup butter to 1/2 cup. Also added 1/3 cup dried dates(presoaked in hot water, very sugary if you don't)into wet mix before adding dry ingredients. I got delicious, thick, moist banana bread! This is the kind of banana bread that when I think "banana bread" I want! Great taste and texture. The only issue I found was the banana flavor slightly lacked to me and my family. Should I make it again I will probubly add an extra mashed banana to the mix. No issues in my oven doing 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just ate some, it's great. Ha! Ha! but like most posters I changed it a bit. I used soft margarine for butter and powdered sweetener for sugar. Can't taste the difference from the butter/sugar version my wife usually makes. And yes she agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States