Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I changed this up a bit. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/2 cup white sugar, and added a heaping teaspoon of both nutmeg and cinnamon. My bread only took 50 minutes at 350. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is now my go-to banana bread recipe. I have made it with bananas (I prefer them mushed) and also with persimmon puree. With or without walnuts, this is a great recipe although I prefer with walnuts. Once I was out of butter and substituted sunflower oil (because that's what I had on hand) and it turned out exactly the same. I used yogurt in place of sour cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Tried this recipe and thought it came out pretty darn good, though I have to admit that I've never baked banana bread before. I also didn't stick to the recipe exactly. I didn't have sour cream, so substituted Greek yogurt (all I had was strawberry), changed out 1/2 the amount of white sugar with brown sugar and added a pinch of cinnamon. Smelled awesome while baking and came out moist and yummy! I used a 10 x 10" glass dish and it was done in ~45 min. As some of the other reviews have indicated, next time I'd probably opt to mash at least some of the bananas and perhaps cube up the rest (vs. slice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmorishi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
So super moist and light! Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I love this recipe, but I make a few changes; add a pinch of cinnamon, top with course sugar (for example sugar in the raw), and I add a third banana in leu of the sour cream for a sweeter and stronger banana flavor, less fat is just an added bonus. I feel the sour cream actually dilutes the banana flavor and doesn't really add anything that a third banana can't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Best banana bread I ever tried! I follow the recipe step by step for the most part , but like some other reviewers mentioned, I smashed the bananas instead of cutting them, cream the butter at room temperature with the sugar and use low fat, plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The bread turned out yummy and with a wonderful moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it! My only change was to add a t. of cinnamon. Besides this, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia Hall
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This bread is absolutely amazing!! I did smash my bananas instead of slice them and I used 3 large bananas instead of 2. The texture, flavor and look of the bread was perfect. It wasn't too sweet or not sweet enough, it was just right. I never have to buy store brand banana nut bread again. Thanks for the recipe! !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
made the changes, did not melt butter, used brown sugar , added 1 tsp of baking powder, used 1 ¾ cups of flour and mashed the bananas using 1 cup. Made sure I only cooked until knife came out clean. It is by far, the best banana bread I have ever made and I bake quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SenoraMora
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The first 2 times i made it, I sliced the bananas the next two times i mushed them and it makes it taste way more like bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States