Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this for the last big family picnic and made a double batch. The first batch I made exactly as the recipe called for, the only difference being that I mashed the bananas before using them as other reviewers had suggested, and also added a tablespoon of lemon extract for more flavor. The second one I sort of came up with on my own for additives. I wanted something more heavy and spicy so I had some leftover blueberries and I added 1 cup of them to the mix. I also added 1tsp of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of allspice, and 1 tablespoon cinnamon. The crowd loved it, and both were eaten quickly! It was split down the middle as to which one was best. I was very pleased. Just wish I would have gotten to eat a little more for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth Jean Nicewonger-Camp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Love this recipe, I added dates instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a hit every time, consistently moist and delicious with the perfect amount of sweetness. My only change is to smash the bananas, instead of slicing, as other reviewers have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnPointe
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
really liked this, though ended up adapting the recipe to suite what I had on hand. I use alot of " plain" recipes as a starting off place. The proportions here were right on. My changes were... I added Two Tbls lemon juice. 1/4 c. yellow cornmeal. and 1 cup blueberries. Another change I made was i smashed my bananas with a fork. After my additions i gave it another star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn A Jaskowiak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jon Richards
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious. I did some of the same tweaks that others did: 1 3/4 cups of flour, 1 tsp. each of baking powder and baking soda, and I added one cup of mashed very ripe bananas- which actually came out to be 3 medium sized bananas. So moist and full of banana flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Best banana bread recipe ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Used coconut oil instead of butter - turned out SUPER yummy & moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This bread was amazing and very easy to make. For high altitudes, I recommend using high altitude flour since it will get hard otherwise, as such with other baking recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southitalia23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
i accidentally put 1/2c cream cheese in mix instead of 1/2c sour cream. Turned out to be an awesome mistake and will keep it that way. This recipe is very easy. After spraying pan i dusted the pan with a sugar and cinnamon mix(1/4c sugar & 1tsp sugar). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bramble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Easy to make and turned out great! Following other reviewers suggestions I mashed the bananas instead of cutting them. Also, I used a glass bread pan which might be why I had to cook them for quite a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States