Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I love this recipe, but I make a few changes; add a pinch of cinnamon, top with course sugar (for example sugar in the raw), and I add a third banana in leu of the sour cream for a sweeter and stronger banana flavor, less fat is just an added bonus. I feel the sour cream actually dilutes the banana flavor and doesn't really add anything that a third banana can't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Best banana bread I ever tried! I follow the recipe step by step for the most part , but like some other reviewers mentioned, I smashed the bananas instead of cutting them, cream the butter at room temperature with the sugar and use low fat, plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The bread turned out yummy and with a wonderful moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it! My only change was to add a t. of cinnamon. Besides this, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia Hall
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This bread is absolutely amazing!! I did smash my bananas instead of slice them and I used 3 large bananas instead of 2. The texture, flavor and look of the bread was perfect. It wasn't too sweet or not sweet enough, it was just right. I never have to buy store brand banana nut bread again. Thanks for the recipe! !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
made the changes, did not melt butter, used brown sugar , added 1 tsp of baking powder, used 1 ¾ cups of flour and mashed the bananas using 1 cup. Made sure I only cooked until knife came out clean. It is by far, the best banana bread I have ever made and I bake quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SenoraMora
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The first 2 times i made it, I sliced the bananas the next two times i mushed them and it makes it taste way more like bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe is outstanding. By far the best banana recipe I have ever tried. I did make the same variations as "naples34102" and increased flour to 1 3/4 cups, used both baking soda and powder and used 1 cup of mashed. I will never look for another recipe again. So moist and full of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delish. Was a little concerned that it only takes 2 bananas, but it was still moist enough. I also substituted vanilla Greek yogurt for the sour cream. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Really an awesome recipe !! I exchanged the white sugar for 3/4 c brown sugar, and I threw the bananas in the mixer, no slicing . Then I sprinkled on cinnamon and sugar before and after baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I mash the bananas, but otherwise make exactly as stated. Only banana bread recipe that I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,976) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States