Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I made this recipe twice, once as stated in the recipe and again with half the amount of banana. Both times I baked them longer than stated and the center collapsed and was raw in the middle. I think I will give it one more try and decrease the sour cream also. Too much moisture made it heavy and soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Best banana bread recipe I've ever had, hands down. I love that I don't need rotten black bananas for this recipe - because they are sliced I can use just slightly over-ripe ones. I've substituted yogurt for the sour cream sometimes and it's just as good. I've also tried chocolate chunks instead of nuts last time and it was also fantastic. This is the only banana bread I will ever make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
So flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowena Castro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I use this recipe every time now, I love it! I don't add the nuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I have hunted, searched & tried many banana bread recipes looking for one that is rich in flavor and moist. I have finally found the one I want. The only change I made was the one suggested by many people, I mash the bananas rather than slice, using a full cup. It's really a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganpatty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Growing up my grandmother would make banana but bread on a regular. This recipe definitely took me back to those days. The only thing I added was about a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, delicious!!!!!. This will be my go to recipe when it's my time to bake for my grand kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this for my mom, and I used some flax seed, and wheat flour in it. It tastes amazing! I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Grandma's banana bread always turned out incredibly heavy and dry. I love her but not her recipe. I have tried scores of different banana breads and finally I found the PERFECT recipe! So moist and light and a recipe I will be proud to pass along to my children and grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Didn't have sour cream. So I used 2% milk and lemon juice. It came great. Liked both taste and texture very much. Will keep this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Love this! It's a little too sweet for my taste so I cut the sugar way down to 1/3 cup. Super ripe bananas sweetens it perfectly. I substituted half of the butter with coconut oil. I added chocolate chips because you can never go wrong with chocolate + banana. Fun to make with my 5 year-old, I just prep the dry stuff ahead of time and let her handle the banana mashing. I doubled the batch to bring some to my sister-in-law who just had twins but after one bite I decided I didn't want to share and will just buy her something else. It's that delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States