Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Samuel Ankrah
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this banana bread twice in 2 weeks. First time I had wayy to much banana, and it came out flat and solid, but good. Second time around, I followed recipe using organic ingredients but substituted nuts for instant Quaker oats (1cup+). it turned out perfectly and filling! Great recipe for sure!!! I did not mash the bananas. Rather, I combined the sour cream with the bananas inside a blender, and blended them together. Afterwards, I poured on to flour mixture and stirred. While stirring, I added the 1+cups of Quaker oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Ankrah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wageni
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I love love this recipe. My first attempt at banana bread and it turned out great. My variations were: Whole milk instead of sour cream & peanuts instead of almonds. Oh and 3/4 castor sugar because I'm not much of a sweet tooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I added an extra banana plus nutmeg and cinnamon. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Do not used sliced bananas! The texture is unpleasant, very mushy when you bite it. Also, you don't get the banana flavor all the way through. I made it again, and I used 4 bananas that I smashed up and it was perfect. I also didn't have walnuts, so I used pecans. Very good, tasty and delish. Mine took an extra 7 minutes to be cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this with adding the sugestions from Naples34102...I accidentally forgot the salt and did not notice it untill I was writing this recipie with her suggestions combined on a recipe card for my box. This does NOT need the salt...I'm omitting it from the recipe..also, I was stuck using margarine as I was out of butter with the after Christmas baking bonanaza....This is the most delicious banana bread recipe I have ever made....Next time I will use butter as its what I use in baking. I can only imagine it will make the bread taste slightly richer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie
Living In: Keithville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Perfect! I've never made banana bread before and this recipe was the way to start! The recipe says sliced bananas but the video shows them being mashed. I mashed mine and this loaf turned out terrific. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Dineley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
After reading some of the reviews I did make a few adjustments. I added 1/2 C brown sugar and reduced white sugar to 1/2 C. I added 1 tsp of lemon juice, 1 tsp of baking powder, 1/4 C flour, and omitted the salt. I mashed the bananas measuring 1 C, took about 2 1/2 medium bananas. since I did not have any walnuts I added pecans instead. This bread came out moist and flavor was amazing. It sliced up perfectly. My husband said it was best banana bread he ever tasted. Did not take long for this one to disappear. This one is a keeper....kdp1023
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Really delicious - stayed moist for several days after baking too. Didn't add the nuts as my kiddo won't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I cut down augur to half cup and tow bag id truvia . It turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a hit in my house and neighborhood! I was short on time so I made muffins instead of a loaf. Also, I used 3 smashed bananas instead of slicing 2. This will definitely be my go to recipe for banana nut bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,069) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States