Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Delicious recipe with very slight mods. I added 1 tsp of baking soda as another reviewer mentioned. Mashed the bananas and added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter and a cinnamon crumb topping. Scrumptious! This one goes into the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Dawn*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Perfect as written! Sliced bananas very thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have a recipe I usually use but have misplaced it, so I thought I'd try this recipe. It is tasty however, I used 7 ripe small to medium sized bananas that I had froze and thawed for making banana bread. I found the recipe a bit to sweet, 3/4 cup of sugar would have been plenty. I think had I not added the extra bananas it would have been a very mild tasting banana bread. I would use room temperature butter and beat the sugar in. (this is a basic technique in baking) but I thought I'd follow the recipe instructions. (should have went with my gut) I also used cake flour instead of all purpose and the bread turned out more delicate. I did double the recipe and I got three smaller (taller and more narrow pans) loafs. Added mini chocolate chip to one, walnuts to the another and left one plain. Only thing I'd do to make this bread a bit more moist is add 1/4 cup of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream, because it's a lot healthier, adding protein, and its awesome :) I also crushed the walnuts on top instead of mixing them in, more for aesthetic reasons than taste reasons, and I pushed some frozen strawberries into the top to add some tart sweetness to cut through the bread. I love classic banana bread, and I decided to experiment :) turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Super easy, tasty, and moist. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT HUSBANDS SAY'S HE LIKE'S IT BETTER THEN HIS MOM'S OR GRANDMA'S HOOT HOOT IT'S A KEEPER......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Based on reviews, I'm sure this is a good recipe. Unfortunately, it did not specify half a cup of butter pre-melting or post so I ended up with way too much butter in the recipe and it ended up in the garbage. Not sure if I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
With naples34102's small modifications, this is great. I no longer am looking for a really good banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Delicious banana bread. The only thing I did different was mash the bananas and added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this with only 2 bananas which wasn't 1 full cup and it is good but would prefer a little more banana flavor, next time I will use a cup of smashed banana's as others have suggested. I made these as mini-muffins baking for only 15 minutes and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States