Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Wanted to use up some older Bananas so I tried out this recipe. It was really good! The only thing I did differently than the recipe stated was, I creamed the softened butter and sugar together and I mashed the bananas. Everything else I did exactly as stated. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was so good, the butter makes a huge difference. I added a tsp of cinnamon and used buttermilk instead of sour cream and added mini chocolate chips. This is so good, I have been making what I thought was good banana bread for years and years. Agree with others, cream the butter and mash the bananas for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by penni
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I just made this for the first time and omg!!!! It's so good. My kids loved it. The only thing I changed is I didn't add the walnuts, and I used an electric mixer to mix everything . it came out super moist and smells amazing. My kids are really picky eaters but the practically devoured this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I baked this bread and my family loved it!! I didn't melt the butter all the way through but just until it was soft and fell apart easily. Instead of using sliced bananas, I just mushed the whole bananas with the rest of the ingredients with my hands. Just like my god mother taught me when I was little. With the size of lot pans I had (cheap foil kind) I had enough to make 1.5 loaves,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Dillon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy to make and delicious! The only thing I changed was that I mashed the bananas instead of slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've already made this more times that I can count and each time the bread seemed to taste better. I haven't and wouldn't make any alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was so delicious & moist, we absolutely loved this recipe. The only change I made was to mash the bananas instead of slice them. I also added a few extra walnuts & softened the butter instead of melting. Absolutely a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, especially after a top reviewer said this is Martha Stewarts recipe. The outside was getting dark, so I took it out of the oven. As it cooled the center collapsed. I turned it over to complete cooling, on a rack, and it near broke into 3 parts. I did use a non stick bread pan. The next day it was in even more pieces. It is a little sweet, but I rate this about a 4 on taste. Otherwise, my rating would be much lower. Fortunately, I was not serving this to company. I read reviews where others mention the browning on the outside before the inside. I have made a few banana breads from the site cake like ones and very moist ones, this in between that. However, they turned out taste and texture. So, not a repeat recipe. Wish this would have worked for me with all the good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I added 1/3 cup brown sugar. I softened 1.5 sticks of butter and increased the flour to two cups. That along with 1 tsp each baking soda and baking powder.......awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States