Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I misplaced my well worn copy of this recipe, so I got back on line to reprint it(thank goodness it was still here) and was surprised that there were so few reviews. I have been making this bread since 2002 and still think its the best recipe out there.everyone I make it for really enjoys it,I bake them in small loaf pans(6)so they only require about 35-40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is a great recipe! My husband and 2 year old LOVE this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Very good moist bread. I used only 2 cups sugar and used about 3 cups of banana as well as 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. This recipe with a few tweaks is now the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Absolutely the best banana nut bread I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENMAB75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I have tried several different Banana Nut Breads and never had one taste as good as this one. I think the cinnamon and sour cream really add to the flavor. I did however add one (1) tsp of Vanilla to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This ia a really good banana bread recipe. I read the other reviews and altered my recipe by adding 1 tsp vanilla, doubling the cinnamon and baking at 300 degrees for 90 minutes. The bread came out perfect by baking it at this temp. I also added extra banana and maybe 1/4 cup extra sour cream (but I used light). The bread turned out very moist and delicious. The only thing I may try in the future would be to cut back a little on the sugar. It is very yummy but a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Did not like this at all. This was more of a cake than a banana bread. The flavor was not great either, you really couldn't tell it was supposed to be banana. I will keep looking for that perfect bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I was very disappointed in this recipe. We all thought it was on the dry side, and lacked the "spongy" quality of a good quick bread--also, even with all the sugar, it lacked flavor, very dull-will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I love banana-nut bread! This one was pretty good, but a little sweeter than I'm used to. It needed much longer to cook than the recipe states. I cooked mine for 80 minutes, and should have cooked it about 5 or 10 minutes longer...there was a gooey spot on the top. Overall I liked it, and my 6-year-old boy LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Perfect!!! Served with a dollop of whipped cream. OOOO's and Ahhhh's never stopped. Doubled the cinnamon, my family are big cinnamon fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States