Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Very good moist bread. I used only 2 cups sugar and used about 3 cups of banana as well as 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. This recipe with a few tweaks is now the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Absolutely the best banana nut bread I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENMAB75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I have tried several different Banana Nut Breads and never had one taste as good as this one. I think the cinnamon and sour cream really add to the flavor. I did however add one (1) tsp of Vanilla to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This ia a really good banana bread recipe. I read the other reviews and altered my recipe by adding 1 tsp vanilla, doubling the cinnamon and baking at 300 degrees for 90 minutes. The bread came out perfect by baking it at this temp. I also added extra banana and maybe 1/4 cup extra sour cream (but I used light). The bread turned out very moist and delicious. The only thing I may try in the future would be to cut back a little on the sugar. It is very yummy but a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Did not like this at all. This was more of a cake than a banana bread. The flavor was not great either, you really couldn't tell it was supposed to be banana. I will keep looking for that perfect bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I was very disappointed in this recipe. We all thought it was on the dry side, and lacked the "spongy" quality of a good quick bread--also, even with all the sugar, it lacked flavor, very dull-will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I love banana-nut bread! This one was pretty good, but a little sweeter than I'm used to. It needed much longer to cook than the recipe states. I cooked mine for 80 minutes, and should have cooked it about 5 or 10 minutes longer...there was a gooey spot on the top. Overall I liked it, and my 6-year-old boy LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Perfect!!! Served with a dollop of whipped cream. OOOO's and Ahhhh's never stopped. Doubled the cinnamon, my family are big cinnamon fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I live in The Republic of Panama, it's very difficult to find 'all american' dishes... This recipe is just great, I can't get pecans so I substituted Walnuts, I can't even get the proper pans, so I used smaller pans and made 4 loafs, the neighbors and I just love it, it's great frozen too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This banana nut bread was too sweet for my taste and also too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States