Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Perfect recipe. First time i made this i used 2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 3 large banana's and tripled the cinnamon, used walnuts for the nuts. I did bake it 1 hour 20 minutes until done at 325. Came out perfect. Wonderful will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is the best I've made. I hope I can do it again because I really liked this recipe and my friends and co-workers loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NellieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 10 servings and made muffins from the batter. I cut the sugar back by half again (3/4 cup) and instead of using 1 1/2 eggs and 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter, I just cut back on the butter by two tablespoons and used two full eggs. After I started mixing the batter, this did need a little more mashed banana--I added one more. I made no other changes. These turned out perfect. I didn't get 10 muffins out of this recipe, I got 12 and they were quite big. 350* for 20 minutes and they were perfect. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I used yogurt instead of sour cream simply because that is what I had, ditto walnuts instead of pecans. It was delicious. Sprinkled some extra nuts and cinnamon/sugar on top before baking. A definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Family liked this. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the bread came out flavorful and really really good. In fact, I like this banana bread recipe more than any of the other banana bread recipes that I have tried on Allrecipes. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I made this today and it was great! I used walnuts instead of pecans and forgot the cinnamon, but it was a big hit with my husband, daughter and even my mom. Mom said it was better than any she has made. I also made 8 mini loaves because they are easy to give away, so I wont eat it all...LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this tonight after having thoughts of mom from years ago. it turned out delicious even though I did cut the sugar by half a cup. I also tried the cinnamon sugar coating in the pan and feel this is overkill on the sweetness. It wasn't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been looking for "the best banana nut bread" for a long time...I have found it with this recipe! How easy it was to prep. I did lower the temp to 325 and cooked it longer. I also followed a tip from previous reviews and doubled the cinnamon and added a splash of vanilla. YUMMY!! I got 5 mini loaf pans and 1 regular "stoneware" loaf pan out of the recipe. I was skeptical that it would go that far, but I was pleasantly surprised! Consider me a RAVING Fan of Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread! This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Best Banana nut Bread I have ever made! I used selfrising flour,real butter, and a dash of vanilla. Cooked on 325 slower and it came out even all around. Some say its too much sugar. Its really sweet but thats how we like it. Just use less if you don't want so much sweetness. The middle turned out very moist and soft with crust a bit crunchy, BUT that how I like it. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States