Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I loved it! This is the best recipe that I have tried :) I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and I just added 1 more banana. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have made this twice but have to say, 325 doesn't cut it. I have baked it for the hour time frame and it always needs more baking time. It is completely raw on the inside and I need to bake it longer. I wonder if it wouldn't do better at 350 for a shorter amt of time. I don't know what that is, since I have tried it at 325 twice, but do know that at 350, it bakes off in about 20 mins at the end. The only problem is that it gets a bit crispy on the edges. Start with 350 and then judge from there. I also cut down on the sugar to 2 1/2 cups b/c 3 cups seems obscene! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
omg i just make this banana bread...i love trying different ones..WOW!!!! This is the bomb..I just add cranberry in.. am eating at 9 pm..yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweethands..

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WH
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! It reminds me of my grandma's. I made only a few minor modifications to my tasting. I believe this recipe needed something more, I used about 2 cups of banana (about 4 mashed nana's) and instead of just white sugar I used 1c of white and 1c brown sugar. Also in my family we usually put a few squares of guave paste in it while its baking so I strongly suggest that!! Other then the few tweeks I made and suggestions I rated it a 4 only bc I felt it lacked enough flavor but this recipe is wonderful I used it alot now that I can finally make it almost as good as grandma! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sizzlingwhitesides

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Perfect recipe. First time i made this i used 2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 3 large banana's and tripled the cinnamon, used walnuts for the nuts. I did bake it 1 hour 20 minutes until done at 325. Came out perfect. Wonderful will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is the best I've made. I hope I can do it again because I really liked this recipe and my friends and co-workers loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NellieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 10 servings and made muffins from the batter. I cut the sugar back by half again (3/4 cup) and instead of using 1 1/2 eggs and 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter, I just cut back on the butter by two tablespoons and used two full eggs. After I started mixing the batter, this did need a little more mashed banana--I added one more. I made no other changes. These turned out perfect. I didn't get 10 muffins out of this recipe, I got 12 and they were quite big. 350* for 20 minutes and they were perfect. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I used yogurt instead of sour cream simply because that is what I had, ditto walnuts instead of pecans. It was delicious. Sprinkled some extra nuts and cinnamon/sugar on top before baking. A definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Family liked this. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States