Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I made it the first time as written, and it turned out wonderful. I gave one loaf as a gift, and the other was gobbled up at a party. Only changes I would make are the cooking time (takes about 75 minutes for me every time), and the addition of a little vanilla. The next time I made it, I tried to lower the fat content using some substitutes. I used egg substitute, fat free sour cream, and reduced the amount of nuts, and it still tasted wonderful! In fact, when I made it a third time, and replaced the butter with low fat milk, my husband said he even liked it better (he's not watching his weight, either). The only thing I've noticed is that when taking the fat out, the top of the bread does not maintain that "crispy crust" for as long as the original recipe. It gets a little gummy, almost like a sweet glaze, once stored for a day or two. Not bad, just different. This recipe also keeps for a while. So far, I know it lasts for at least a week (maybe longer, but only if it remains uneaten!) This recipe has officially replaced my old Banana Bread recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Very good moist bread. I used only 2 cups sugar and used about 3 cups of banana as well as 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. This recipe with a few tweaks is now the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
OUTSTANDING RECIPE. I added one teaspoon of vanilla and baked at 300 degrees for 90 minutes in order to make sure it baked long enough but didn't burn. It was the most scrumptious bread I have ever made! I love it!! And everyone is right - it even tastes better the next day or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 10 servings and made muffins from the batter. I cut the sugar back by half again (3/4 cup) and instead of using 1 1/2 eggs and 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter, I just cut back on the butter by two tablespoons and used two full eggs. After I started mixing the batter, this did need a little more mashed banana--I added one more. I made no other changes. These turned out perfect. I didn't get 10 muffins out of this recipe, I got 12 and they were quite big. 350* for 20 minutes and they were perfect. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Awesome, awesome! I now have this down by memory I make it so often. The riper the banana, the better. If the peels get black, but your still not ready to use them, they freeze well. Just defrost for several seconds in the microwave and they're ready to use. Can't go wrong with this, even for a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I used self-rising flour and omitted the baking soda and powder. This was a very moist and flavorful bread. I may add a little more sugar next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This is THE best Banana Nut bread ever!! Every single time I make, everyone goes crazy for it! I put a little tiny bit more sour cream and I actually add chocolate chips. It's a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee McGee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I was very disappointed in this recipe. We all thought it was on the dry side, and lacked the "spongy" quality of a good quick bread--also, even with all the sugar, it lacked flavor, very dull-will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Really good. I would make this bread again. I agree to bake it a little longer, 5-10 minutes. Surprisingly, this bread gets tastier the older it gets, really. It actually tasted better the third day than it did the first. Everybody was very impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is the best I've made. I hope I can do it again because I really liked this recipe and my friends and co-workers loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NellieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States