Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Very easy and lots of flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Really good. I would make this bread again. I agree to bake it a little longer, 5-10 minutes. Surprisingly, this bread gets tastier the older it gets, really. It actually tasted better the third day than it did the first. Everybody was very impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was great! My son said "Mom don't loose this recipe, it is great". I added a little more sugar, and baked it longer. I will be using it a lot. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
The sour cream added to this bread makes it really moist. I had to add 15 minutes to the cooking time, it wasn't near done by the recipes time. This was a big hit, I had to make another nut-free batch for the kids the following week. I gave several of these loaves as holiday gifts to the neighbors this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I love Banana Nut Bread, and was craving some the other day. I found this recipe, made it, and WOW! It truely is DELICIOUS! Sweet, moist, and perfect blend of banana and pecans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This is THE best Banana Nut bread ever!! Every single time I make, everyone goes crazy for it! I put a little tiny bit more sour cream and I actually add chocolate chips. It's a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I thought it would be great, but I baked it longer than it said to even in my convection oven, and it was still raw in the middle. Maybe if it had been fully baked it would have tasted better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I made it the first time as written, and it turned out wonderful. I gave one loaf as a gift, and the other was gobbled up at a party. Only changes I would make are the cooking time (takes about 75 minutes for me every time), and the addition of a little vanilla. The next time I made it, I tried to lower the fat content using some substitutes. I used egg substitute, fat free sour cream, and reduced the amount of nuts, and it still tasted wonderful! In fact, when I made it a third time, and replaced the butter with low fat milk, my husband said he even liked it better (he's not watching his weight, either). The only thing I've noticed is that when taking the fat out, the top of the bread does not maintain that "crispy crust" for as long as the original recipe. It gets a little gummy, almost like a sweet glaze, once stored for a day or two. Not bad, just different. This recipe also keeps for a while. So far, I know it lasts for at least a week (maybe longer, but only if it remains uneaten!) This recipe has officially replaced my old Banana Bread recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
I made this with my granddaughter and she gave it an A plus. This is very good, especially warm just out of the oven with butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I used self-rising flour and omitted the baking soda and powder. This was a very moist and flavorful bread. I may add a little more sugar next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States