Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I have been baking banana bread for many years and thought I would try a new receipe. When I saw that the ingredients called for sour cream I thought it would make the bread very moist, so I gave it try. BIG MISTAKE ! First of all way to much sugar, made the top hard and crunchy, not in a good way. I set the oven at 325 like the directions said, I usually bake at 350, and let my two loafs bake for 65 minutes. When time was up , I put a tooth pick in the middle and it came out dry. Done I thought. I let it cool and cut into a loaf, mussy and not baked completely. I was so disappointed, and wish I would of read the reviews for this recipe that stated to bake longer and at 350. I would of saved alot of time and most of all money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCAR
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I found this recipe here years ago and have been making it ever since. I wish there were a higher rating than 5 stars! I get so many compliments on this bread every time I make it. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
wonderful recipe, I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream. so moist!!! my kids were begging for more! :) and they are only 6, 4, and 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have tried many recipes and nobody liked any of the banana nut bread that I've made until this recipe. The taste is great and easy to make. We all LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe since it was posted. I love it. I have made changes over the years. I use half all purpose and half wheat flour. I add a tsp. vanilla, and walnuts ILO pecans. I bake for 90 minutes on 300. I hope you enjoy as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This bread had WAY too much sugar in it. Unfortunately, I didn't compare it to my other banana bread recipes before I made it, and I was disappointed. The taste of the ripe banana was overwhelmed by the sugar. Instead of 3 cups, 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This banana bread is amazing! My family calls it a little slice of banana heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Fabulous! Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
My whole family loved this! Best Banana bread I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
this was very good. I made two when baking and thought why not try and freeze one. I kept it for about three months in the freezer forgot it was there. Took out of freezer let stand at room temp until thawed, could not believe how good it still was. Will definately make again. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States