Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I would give this a 5+, but since I changed it (slightly), I figured I'd hold back one star. I only used 2 cups of sugar, and that was PLENTY - even with my sweet tooth :) I also added a tsp of vanilla. This was FANTASTIC! Super easy and delicious. I ended up with 4 mini loaves and one 5x9 loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of banana bread but this was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious and moist. This will definitely be the recipe I use for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The best ever! So moist and I love the little crunchy nuts. Plus the sugar coat on top is sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I have been baking banana bread for many years and thought I would try a new receipe. When I saw that the ingredients called for sour cream I thought it would make the bread very moist, so I gave it try. BIG MISTAKE ! First of all way to much sugar, made the top hard and crunchy, not in a good way. I set the oven at 325 like the directions said, I usually bake at 350, and let my two loafs bake for 65 minutes. When time was up , I put a tooth pick in the middle and it came out dry. Done I thought. I let it cool and cut into a loaf, mussy and not baked completely. I was so disappointed, and wish I would of read the reviews for this recipe that stated to bake longer and at 350. I would of saved alot of time and most of all money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCAR
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I found this recipe here years ago and have been making it ever since. I wish there were a higher rating than 5 stars! I get so many compliments on this bread every time I make it. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
wonderful recipe, I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream. so moist!!! my kids were begging for more! :) and they are only 6, 4, and 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have tried many recipes and nobody liked any of the banana nut bread that I've made until this recipe. The taste is great and easy to make. We all LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe since it was posted. I love it. I have made changes over the years. I use half all purpose and half wheat flour. I add a tsp. vanilla, and walnuts ILO pecans. I bake for 90 minutes on 300. I hope you enjoy as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This bread had WAY too much sugar in it. Unfortunately, I didn't compare it to my other banana bread recipes before I made it, and I was disappointed. The taste of the ripe banana was overwhelmed by the sugar. Instead of 3 cups, 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States