Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
These are sweet, but not too sweet. They're nutty and fragrant, perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not double the recipe and found that with the amounts stated in the recipe I was able to cover two and a half cookie sheets that were 9 x 13 size. I found the thinner I pressed the dough in to the cookie sheet (each tray I pressed in got thinner and thinner), the better the cookie turned out. I did not increase the amount of cinnamon as some reviewers suggested. Instead of greasing the cookie sheet I used parchment paper, so that is another option for you to consider. Also, something you can try if you want: I used slivered almonds instead of walnuts (and added a small amount of almond extract to the dough) and then sprinkled the top with large grain vanilla sugar crystals (from a grinder) before popping into the oven. Don't forget to cut them while they are just out of the oven (don't slide your knife or the freshly baked dough will "tear"). Leave them on the tray to cool thoroughly so they don't lose their shape as you move them to a plate. They "harden"/crisp up as they cool and taste best thoroughly cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very good, but I had trouble getting them out of the pan. Spreading just takes time. The dough does fit onto a sheet pan -- you just have to work it and work it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These are my father in-law's favorite cookies and I've heard from my husband's side they're tough to make ( don't see why) I'm going to try these out tonight! Just have one question....should I grease my baking sheet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Rispens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Really easy to bake! Made these for a dutch themed book club meeting. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I love these cookies! Definitely a holiday favorite! Though I use sliced almonds instead of walnuts, they get nice and crispy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Domino
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Revisiting my Dutch roots, these cookies are an old favorite. I've never tried them with almonds but I'm sure you can use what ever you have (pecans would be good). As you press the dough into the cookie sheet just keep pushing it outward, thinner and thinner, until you sometimes push your finger through to the bottom and it leaves an indentation that needs to be repaired/filled-in. The thinner these cookies are, the better. Crisp, flaky, not too sweet, covered in nuts, with a hint of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Love this recipe! Its a classic in our family. However, I found that I had to double the recipe in order to spread the dough thick enough on one cookie sheet. Also, I sprinkled a little sugar and rolled oats on top with almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
these were great! I put cinnamon in with the nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My mom made these cookies when I was a kid in the 50's. She always made them with sliced almonds and they are delicious. I started making them this year when I found out one of my co-workers was allergic to all nuts except almonds. They were a hit at the office!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States