Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These are my father in-law's favorite cookies and I've heard from my husband's side they're tough to make ( don't see why) I'm going to try these out tonight! Just have one question....should I grease my baking sheet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Rispens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Really easy to bake! Made these for a dutch themed book club meeting. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I love these cookies! Definitely a holiday favorite! Though I use sliced almonds instead of walnuts, they get nice and crispy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Domino
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Revisiting my Dutch roots, these cookies are an old favorite. I've never tried them with almonds but I'm sure you can use what ever you have (pecans would be good). As you press the dough into the cookie sheet just keep pushing it outward, thinner and thinner, until you sometimes push your finger through to the bottom and it leaves an indentation that needs to be repaired/filled-in. The thinner these cookies are, the better. Crisp, flaky, not too sweet, covered in nuts, with a hint of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Love this recipe! Its a classic in our family. However, I found that I had to double the recipe in order to spread the dough thick enough on one cookie sheet. Also, I sprinkled a little sugar and rolled oats on top with almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
these were great! I put cinnamon in with the nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My mom made these cookies when I was a kid in the 50's. She always made them with sliced almonds and they are delicious. I started making them this year when I found out one of my co-workers was allergic to all nuts except almonds. They were a hit at the office!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These are also a tradition in our family of Dutch descendants. These are best spread as thinly as possible. Almost to 1/8th to a 1/4th of an inch if you can. They bake up crispy, almost wafer like, and whenever I make them...people LOVE them. Also, sometimes we forgo the nuts, or use pecans instead. Not all of our family likes nuts, and we enjoy this recipe with and without nuts. :) We also don't score the dough with a fork. That might be another step you could leave out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I have been making these for years, but use sliced almonds instead of walnuts. Also, I sprinkle white sugar liberally over the egg white and then add the almonds for a crunchy topping. Everybody loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
One of the simplest yet tastiest cookies you'll ever make. People will do flips for these cookies...their rich and buttery and perfect in their simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States