Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Funny that I should find this recipe today. My mom just made a huge batch of this type of cookies. I never thought I would see this recipe anywhere else. These are a tradition in my family! It just isn't Christmas without these cookies. They are crispy, slightly sweet, and just melt in your mouth. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These Dutch cookies are a tradition in our family - I am the third generation to make them for my family. My kids love them, and I love how easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is my favorite cookie from childhood. My mom always made them for us, because they were easy and so delicious! Try them with finely chopped pecans, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I made these for my family and then our staff at school. They were gone in a flash and everyone wanted the recipe. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Five plus stars! Easy cookie and sooo delicious. Soon to be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Brilliantly simple and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is even better than my mother's. Couldn't be easier to make and tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I loved these bars, but I couldn't spread the crust thinly enough to cover 1 1/2 cookie sheets. I ended up doubling the recipe and making a thick pie crust-like bottom to these cookies. I also made a variation with a cinnamon icing on top to add a little kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These were a bit on the bland side, not what we were expecting. Also, it was very difficult to spread the dough on the cookie sheet! I did make this with a 6h grader, so maybe that was the problem, but we weren't sure what all the good reviews were about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My coworkers and my husband LOVE these cookies! I'm not a huge walnut fan, but the flavor they add is really nice. I only use one cookie sheet (not enough dough for 1 1/2), and even then the cookies come out on the thin side. Still, the texture is great. I like to chop up the walnuts as finely as possible; it makes them easier to spread over the dough. Thanks for an easy and yummy recipe that's not the run-of-the-mill cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States