Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
One of the simplest yet tastiest cookies you'll ever make. People will do flips for these cookies...their rich and buttery and perfect in their simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Simply amazing! The best cookies I've ever made! Change nothing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommybrain4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies are amazing! My entire family loves them and are always asking me to make more. The only thing I do differently is that I used sliced almonds instead of chopped walnuts. I think they look prettier sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
made these for xmas last year, the family loved them! definitely going to make them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
The first time I had these cookies was from a neighbor when I was about 12. I'm now 53 and they are a must for special occasions. I've never tried them with walnuts but use sliced almonds instead, I also add about a 1/4 t of butter extract to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Turned out amazing.. I have made it 3 times in a row now and everyone loved it every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We used pecans because we didn't have walnuts and they were great. Some were a bit to thick but the thin ones were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Terry
Home Town: Lexington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I needed a quick and easy recipe for our church live nativity so I chose this one. DELICIOUS! They were so tasty that the first batch never made it out of the house I needed to bake a second right away! My husband said these could very well be his new favorites.....that's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Made these last night... mostly because I already had all the stuff and they sounded good and simple. Very very tasty cookies! I patted the dough out to fill my cookie sheet... approximately 11x17, so they are probably too thick, but I think they are perfect. Worried that they would be a bit bland, I added vanilla to the dough and topped with the egg white, pecans (no walnuts), coarse sugar in the raw, and some cinnamon. Very good... chewy, with a good melty butter cookie texture. Next time I will press into a larger cookie sheet just to get the crispness of a good butter cookie. Not sure how many I made, cause husband ate them as fast as I could break them apart... Cut into 2 inch squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States