Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was a very tasty chili. I didn't add the beer (I just don't like beer believe it or not! LOL!) but otherwise it was good. I would make this again. It does make a lot of chili too which is good for leftovers on fries and hotdogs etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Fantastic chili! Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I LOVE this chili. I'm not a beer drinker, but I love the depth it adds to this dish. I make it, then refrigerate it overnight. I find it is definitely better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
wow - this was fantastic! hers what I did: I used one can of loma linda vegeburger (instead of the ground beef) cooked w/the onions and half a bell pepper and one stalk of celery in some oil with a half package of chili seasoning - then added 1 can of tomatoe sauce, 2 cans of chopped peeled tomatoes, 1 large bottle of Newcastle beer, left out the mushrooms (although I love them), 2 cans of kidney beans and 2 cans of pinto beans w/ all the seasonsings listed in the recipe adding a lil more chili pepper and a couple dashes of cinnamon and cooked it for 2 1/2 hours - It was outstanding and the leftovers where better the next day - we used it for chili dogs and corn chip (frito) pie! thanks for a great recipe = the beer made it 10 times better and my family didnt know I used no meat until I told them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAFNV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
5 star+. 15 minutes of prep and a couple of the best meals I have ever made. This chili is so thick! I used soyrizo (health food sect., soy substitute) to add more protein and less cholesterol. I am looking forward to a cold winter to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Good recipe to use as a base. I needed a bit more flavor but it was still good. Added chopped green peppers and green chiles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
First time ever making chili and this recipe was awesome!! I used steak instead of ground beef. Also, couldn't find chili beans so I used 2 cans kidney and 1 can great northern beans. Also, used fresh mushrooms instead of from the can. Didn't have any beer on hand but tasted great anyway. Let simmer in crock pot all day long. Some of the best chili I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I like my chili thick which this was but that's all it had going for it. It seriously lacked flavor...it was all spice, and we couldn't taste anything else. Neither my husband or I liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
AWESOME!!! I made it for my husband and ended up inviting the family over to help eat it, everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Being a Tarheel myself, I was attracted to this recipe because of the name. And I'm pleased to report that we liked this recipe a lot! I made it as directed, except couldn't stand the thought of mushrooms in chili so I left those out. My only complaint is that it's pretty salty - between the 2 cans of chili beans, the kidney beans and the tomato sauce there is a lot of sodium. If you can find low-salt canned goods I would recommend it. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States