Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is the best chili recipe I've found. I did make some changes though: I added 2 green peppers, I used 2 lbs of soy crumbles instead of ground beef, and I only used about 1/4 tsp of cayenne (next time, I will use 1 tsp). I used Newcastle for the beer. This was better than the chili mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heart E. Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is an awesome chili recipe! I thought the mushrooms were strange, but they pleasantly added some extra texture and color. I used a few white buttons instead of canned. If you don't like beer, don't be afraid to put some in this chili. It does add depth like someone else pointed out, and your chili will not end up tasting like beer. Delicious, spicy and colorful, and great to eat out of a bowl or with chips, I will be making this again and again! Thanks a bunch for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Really good. We added bell peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
The best chili recipe! It was so easy and delicious! My roommate also loved it!! I didn't put beer because the store only sold 6-bottle beer and I don't drink beer. It still came out great. I didn't add mushroom but added bell pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We loved this chili. Very nice flavor- not too hot, but a good blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe was great! I subsituted carrots and peppers for the mushrooms and celery. I also made the recipe for 6 servings instead of 12 and discovered that if you simmer it for 3 hours the bottom burns! I would only simmer for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cut serving size to 6. I added 4 oz can of diced green chilis and left out the mushrooms. Used moose burger rather than beef for lower fat. Pan fried all the vegtables. I thought the results were great. Cooked for 3 hours on high in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. The best chili recipe I've tried so far. I left out the mushrooms, addes some chopped bell pepper since I had some in the fridge. I only did one pound of ground beef and added two extra cans of beans (seemed healthier and tasted just fine). Also, I didn't precook the vegetables. Instead I dumped everything in the crock pot and cooked it on low all day. Turned out great. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Being a Tarheel myself, I was attracted to this recipe because of the name. And I'm pleased to report that we liked this recipe a lot! I made it as directed, except couldn't stand the thought of mushrooms in chili so I left those out. My only complaint is that it's pretty salty - between the 2 cans of chili beans, the kidney beans and the tomato sauce there is a lot of sodium. If you can find low-salt canned goods I would recommend it. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
AWESOME!!! I made it for my husband and ended up inviting the family over to help eat it, everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States