Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I decided to make this recipe b/c my husband is a big Tarheel and chili fan. At first he was skeptical b/c of all the ingredients. Once he tasted the chili he was blown away. Every time I make this recipe it's great. The only thing i leave out is the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a wonderfully rich and flavorful chili. I have made it with Guinness and Newcastle and the dark beer really sets off the flavors. I also used deer meat instead of ground beef and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is great and simple. Instead of cooking it on the stove top I throw everything into my slow cooker on low for the day and stir it every once and a while. It turns out great. I make it just as the recipe calls for except that I can never find chili beans so I just use 2 cans of kidney instead of 1. I make it all the time in my home and usually make extra to freeze so it's always on hand. A favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I added one green pepper and two seeded jalapenos. Also, I substituted diced jalapeno-flavored chicken sausages for 1/2 lb. of the ground beef. Delish, a very good recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I really like the base of this recipe. I made the following changes for my own taste. Bob Evans Zesty Hot Roll Sausage instead of beef. No mushrooms. Done with and without beer and didn't really notice a difference either way. 1 cup Frozen Corn. 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper was enough heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Love this chili! Only thing is we hate beer so I substituted tomato juice instead. Was even better the next day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a Good recipe!!! My husband enter me in a Chili contest at his job and I used this recipe. We didn't win but people loved it, there was none waisted. I added 2 cups of dark beer (Mississippi Mud) and 1/2 cayenne pepper it seems like a lot but its really not and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
hearty dark chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
My kids, who claimed not to like chili a couple of years ago, gobbled this right up! I added one green pepper and omitted the mushrooms. I also cut back on the cayenne, using only a scant teaspoon. Plenty zippy for the kids. During the final 15 minutes, I added a paste of 2 tbsp cornmeal and water to thicken it up a bit. I'll be making this again! One last detail: being a Wolfpack fan by birth, I hesitantly made this recipe. However, with the changes I've made, I'd prefer to call this "Rockin' Wolfpack Chili."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This chili is sooooooo good! A definite must-have for football night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States