Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I decided to make this recipe b/c my husband is a big Tarheel and chili fan. At first he was skeptical b/c of all the ingredients. Once he tasted the chili he was blown away. Every time I make this recipe it's great. The only thing i leave out is the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a wonderfully rich and flavorful chili. I have made it with Guinness and Newcastle and the dark beer really sets off the flavors. I also used deer meat instead of ground beef and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is great and simple. Instead of cooking it on the stove top I throw everything into my slow cooker on low for the day and stir it every once and a while. It turns out great. I make it just as the recipe calls for except that I can never find chili beans so I just use 2 cans of kidney instead of 1. I make it all the time in my home and usually make extra to freeze so it's always on hand. A favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I added one green pepper and two seeded jalapenos. Also, I substituted diced jalapeno-flavored chicken sausages for 1/2 lb. of the ground beef. Delish, a very good recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I really like the base of this recipe. I made the following changes for my own taste. Bob Evans Zesty Hot Roll Sausage instead of beef. No mushrooms. Done with and without beer and didn't really notice a difference either way. 1 cup Frozen Corn. 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper was enough heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Love this chili! Only thing is we hate beer so I substituted tomato juice instead. Was even better the next day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a Good recipe!!! My husband enter me in a Chili contest at his job and I used this recipe. We didn't win but people loved it, there was none waisted. I added 2 cups of dark beer (Mississippi Mud) and 1/2 cayenne pepper it seems like a lot but its really not and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
hearty dark chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
My kids, who claimed not to like chili a couple of years ago, gobbled this right up! I added one green pepper and omitted the mushrooms. I also cut back on the cayenne, using only a scant teaspoon. Plenty zippy for the kids. During the final 15 minutes, I added a paste of 2 tbsp cornmeal and water to thicken it up a bit. I'll be making this again! One last detail: being a Wolfpack fan by birth, I hesitantly made this recipe. However, with the changes I've made, I'd prefer to call this "Rockin' Wolfpack Chili."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This chili is sooooooo good! A definite must-have for football night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States