Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Made this Chili, but omitted the Mushrooms, and Celery...This Chili is & was AWESOME. It has a sweet flavor, witha slight bite due to the cheyanne pepper. Highly recommend it to anybody who loves a good chili. I also used stew meat instead of ground beef. Very tender, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSHELL777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I liked this recipe. Keep in mind that if it is only for a couple people you will be eating chili for a week! Instead of the celery i put in green peppers. It turned out well. I give it 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Awesome! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The base of this chili was not very thick, and the tomato flavor was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This recipe is to "DIE FOR" I made it per the directions and it was amazing. Next time though I will add more mushrooms just because I like 'shrooms. If this is a personal recipe tell Emirl to watch out. BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was sure spicy, which I LOVE! Made some modifications on this partially because the nutrition stats on many of the recipes on this site are just plain SCARY!!! Way too much fat, sodium, etc. So... I used ground turkey thigh, used a green pepper instead of the celery (because I rarely have celery on hand), used low sodium for the tomatoes and tomato sauce. This recipe is FAR from bland and I think salt can be skipped! I'd cut it down, as there's only me, but made an error in the calcs so was short some tomato sauce. Improvised with low sodium beef broth (which I've seen in other chili recipes). Omitted the beer but used a tad bit of cocoa powder for sweetness (which you see in chili recipes too). LOVE IT! If I have a chili cook-off to go to this fall, this will be my entry. Also, used all organic ingredients. Thanks for a great chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was awesome. I followed some of the suggestions in the comments and switched out mushrooms for bell peppers and simmered it in my crock pot for about 6 hours. I was nervous at first that it would taste like beer, but it didn't at all and it really added to it. Perfect level of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tiffin, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I loved it, though it was too spicy for the kids. Next time I think I will leave the pepper out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is easy and the whole family likes it. I do cheat a little bit though. I use my food processor on the celery, onions and garlic until they're just short of pureed. I find the flavours mix really well and it saves me a lot of time since I make a triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is by far the best chili I've ever had and definitely the best I've ever made myself. The spices are there to add flavor. That's what spices are for! The first time I made this, I doubled the recommended amount of Cayenne b/c my husband loves spicy food. However, I would recommend only the amount she recommends or even less b/c that is plenty. This is amazing chili, and I got the most compliments even if it was too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States