Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was good. Seemed like it was missing something, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmaleth

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This chili ROCKS, despite it's unfortunate name LOL! (sorry, I'm a diehard Duke fan). I put it in the slow cooker on low for the day (instead of on the stove), and my family doesn't care for kidney beans so I substitute a can of pinto beans. I tweak a lot of recipes more, but this one only needs those two small changes to make it perfect in my house. I make it probably twice a month in the winter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a good chili recipe, i added some spice to kick up the heat but i loved the texture and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I am not a chili fan, my family is, so I made this recipe. I couldn't find chili beans so I used the beans they use for refried beans, and kidney beans. My chili for some reason wasn't as thick as I hoped it would be, but it was good and my hubby loved the kick this chili had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great Chili!! I made a few adjustments..I used Deer Chili Meat for my first attempt at this recipe, I only had LandShark beer, I kept the mushrooms and chose to use portabello (chopped into small chunks), I also kept the celery (used the 7oz pre-chopped in the produce section). I used 4 cans of Bush's Chili Beans along with the one can of kidney beans that was recommended. I also de-seeded 3 jalapenos and chopped those, along with one green bell pepper which I chopped in larger chunks (I'll probably use two bell peppers next time). I didn't use crushed tomatoes and opted for diced tomatoes (garlic and oregano). This recipe has some kick. I did have to add salt, but may cut back just a wee-bit on the chili powder. Overall a GREAT chili recipe!! It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aconrad2485

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is good Chili; just the kind mom use to make. I added a couple of things to spice it up a bit but nothing that really changed the original formula. Good Grub Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
No mushrooms, can of northern beans and a chopped sweet red pepper. Love Chili and a fresh out of the oven loaf of Italian Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Modified Recipe: 2 lbs ground beef, no mushrooms (mushrooms???), 2 15oz cans of Kidney Beans, 1 extra 15oz can of crushed tomatoes, and 1 tsp cayenne pepper since my family prefers a slightly less hot chili (a burden I must live by). I used Guinness beer which was perhaps too dark, but it grew on me. Served over rice. Mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR Sands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
great chili we loved it and we recommend it whole heartedly, great with corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wormosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Added chicken instead of beef & was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Chaos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States