Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Really great chili. We started the beef browning, drainede the grease, then finished it off with the onions, garlic, and celery before adding the spices, beans, and tomatos. Left out the mushrooms, as they just don't go with chili in my mind. Cooked up a 1lb bag of black beans and used those instead of "chili beans" (adding about 1T more chili powder), along with a can of (rinsed and drained) kidney beans. Only other change we made was to add a cup or so of frozen corn and use only 1t cayenne, which still gave it a little spice, but if you like it spicy, I would stick with the 2t. Our beer was an amber ale and it definitely added a nice flavor, but without being "boozy" or bitter. What a great dinner topped off with cheese, crackers and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I love this recipe! Made it Friday night and ate it all weekend. Freezing the rest for later. I used just under a quarter cup of chili powder, and only a rounded 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I like a little spicy, but I think 2 tsps would have been way too much. I followed everything else to the tee - love mushrooms and celery in my chili, but also added one chopped up green bell pepper. The beer really makes the difference, too. Even if you don't like beer, I highly recommend using it (you won't taste beer - it just adds a richness and depth to the whole recipe). I used one bottle (12 oz - 1 1/2 cups) of Michelob Dark Amberbock. I cooked the hamburger, scooped it out of the pan with a slotted spoon into a large crock pot, cooked the onions, celery and bell pepper in the leftover hamburger oil, then dumped that and the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot. I cooked it on high for one hour and ate a bowl - I was in heaven! Then dialed it down to low and let it cook overnight. Add some shredded cheddar cheese to your individual bowl and you'll be in chili heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyO
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I've tried a lot of chili recipes, but this one, by far is the BEST!! Everyone in my family loves it..especially when it's topped with shredded Monterey Jack cheese & a dollop of sour cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent! I make this regularly. I never add as much spice as the recipe calls for, and we find it to be hot enough. I only do 2 tsp chili powder. So GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
i made this chili for a chili lunch w a bunch of marines i used 24 oz tom sauce and 1 can stewed mexican tomato and 1 can diced. put it in a blender bc we dont like chunks... also i did not use celery or mushrooms but used 1 small green bell pepper. its great i made it 2 days ahead so sat it will have tons of flavor . might add something to thicken it up... also added garlic powder. im sure they will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have made this at least a dozen times for work events and my family. I get requests for it all the time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Strange...I don't like chili, but I liked this. Yet Hubs, who LOVES chili, was rather unimpressed, remarking, "This is ok, but you've made better." I did leave out the cayenne because Hubs has sensitive innards and I'm a wimp. And, truth be told, I think the amount called for is excessive heat, but that's admittedly a matter of opinion for something like this. I left out the mushrooms, which in my judgement only improved this anyway. Hubs said this chili had an "odd aftertaste." Since these were the only ingredients new to us in chili, I can only assume it's the beer and/or the coriander he was referring to as "odd." He rates this a 3-star recipe because it "didn't move him." Between the two of us I'd call it a 3-1/2 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Made this for a gathering everyone loved it. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
It was very good... and I followed the advice to do it in the slow-cooker. But my mom's chili beats the heck out of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States