Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This wasn't bad the first day eating it, a little sweet, but by the second day the sweetness intesified and we couldn't eat it anymore. I did use grape jelly though instead of jam because that's all we had in the house, so not sure if that was a factor in the extreme sweetness or not. Good base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very good. Made 1/2 recipe and worked well. Would like to try a double recipe and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Jam? In a stew? Who woudda thought? But it was fantastic. I halved recipe and threw in just a large heaping spoonful of jelly. We, also, intended to serve over rice so I omitted the potatoes and threw in a few peas & greenbeans. Absolutely outstanding. Can't wait to try it with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
It was simple enough to make. I prepared it exactly as directed. My kids weren't overly fond of it and I personally felt it was a bit too sweet with a slight lingering taste afterwards. I will try it again but cut the jelly in 1/2 and only use 1/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Dude this was epic. My kids loved it. My husband loved it. I will be making it again and again. Killer good stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
4 Thumbs up (my family's thumbs)! My oldest daughter peeked into the pan halfway through because she said the smell was so good! The only mods i made were: omitted WorCestershire sauce because of my child's allergy to anchovies; grape jelly instead of jam; and beef bouillon with the water. Also, because one member of my fam has a total disliking for potatoes, I omitted them and served over rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made this beef stew and it was absolutely, I mean absolutely the best stew I have made. The ingredients all came together beautifully. Along with the beef stew my 21 yr old daughter also ate a plate of crow for saying the stew was going to be nasty with the grape perserves in it (LOL) she loved the stew!!! Will definately be making this dish again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Pretty easy and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this for the family tonite & they raved about the stew. I must admit it did seem odd putting grape jam in the stew but after reading the reviews I knew I had to try it. It is definitely a keeper recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was an awesome Beef Stew , I am not a big stew person but my spouse is, I made this last year and he said it was the best I have ever made. I even went back for seconds. The grape jam sounded strange at first but it made the gravy of the stew a wonderful consistency and it was very Yummy!!! Open your mind to trying the jam it really makes this recipe stand out from the rest. If you consider grape jam being used in Swedish meatballs, in many recipes it makes sense. I am reviewing this almost a year later when I came to reprint this recipe to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States