Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brenda Vela
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I'm very new to cooking. This is the third plate I've ever made and it was delicious. I was a little nervous about it but the recipe instructions were on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Vela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Very good. I halved the recipe, which still made a huge pot, and made similar adjustments as other reviewers: diced tomatoes and a small can of sauce, all broth no water, white beans, more pasta and left out canned green beans. Good combination of veggies and simmer time is right on for a thick soup and tender veggies, with the exception of the celery which I will sauté longer next time. Cooking pasta separate and adding to each bowl really helps keep it from being overdone. Great with Parmesan and French bread - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is by far my favorite minestrone recipe. Been making it for years! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPruden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My family enjoyed this recipe. I browned up some sausage to add for the meat-eaters in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
My family loved this. It was easy to prepare. The only changes I made were due to things I had on hand. I didn't have zucchini but used all the other vegetables. I only had one small can of tomato sauce, so I used that plus two cans of tomato paste and 1 quart of home bottled stewed tomatoes. I didn't have small shells so I used penne pasta and it was fine. It made a lot but that's ok because we'll either eat the leftovers or I'll freeze some. I made some garlic/cheese bread to go with it and it was all great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This had great flavor. I will definitely make it again. I tripled the amount of pasta. Next time I will not add the pasta to the leftover soup. The pasta soaked up all of the liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I modified it by using beef broth and no water, a can of diced tomatoes, frozen spinach, and whole wheat pasta shells. I also added a pinch of chili and cayanne for some heat. It turned out hearty and great! Enjoy with some hot french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My husband claims to hate half the vegetables in this soup, but cleaned his bowl with a smile on his face. I managed to burn my garlic right off the bat so threw that out and started over, subbing 3/4 tsp garlic powder when I poured in the liquids. Used dried herbs (on hand). "Pepper to taste" was 1/4 tsp (perfect). I did not add salt and it didn't need it, even though I used homemade chicken stock with very little salt. I would probably add if I didn't use canned green beans. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I make it pretty much exactly as is. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very nice soup - love the flavor and it's beautiful! I'll definitely make it again. Great for a group. Served with fococcia bread & salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Dewitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States