Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
When I saw this recipe's ingredients, I wondered what the fuss was about. Today, as I eat yesterday's wilted leftovers from a Tupperware container at 9am in the morning, I thought I'd write a review! I make this salad all the time now. I use spinach and other greens. I use toasted (10 minutes in 350 oven - no butter) pine nuts now insead of the almonds and will never go back - they are perfect for this salad. I add one container of blue cheese (a must for us - perfect blend of flavors). I use one 6 oz package Craisins. I've never used the poppy seeds - but the toasted sesame seeds (also at 350 for 10 minutes) are a must. I may or may not use dried minced onion. Toss all dressing ingredients in a container with a lid - and shake! This salad has been a hit with everyone I've served it to - dinner party, Easter lunch, dinner at home. It is so easy and easy to transport, too - just add the dressing once you get to where you're going. Try it - I bet you'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1929 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
WOW! AWESOME! TIME saver tips: use Paul Newman's balsamic vinagrette instead of making your own dressing. MONEY saving tip: use "Craisins" dried cranberry fruit instead of regular dried cranberries. Use can of mandarin oranges instead of poppy seeds. THIS WAS A HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Wow, fantastic! I used Craisins and only 1/4 cup sugar. I also used light olive oil instead of vegetable and toasted the sesame seeds and almonds in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes to cut out the butter. Added gorganzola cheese and it was gobbled up at a potluck - they pratically licked the bowl! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
715 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Great recipe - very festive and quite tasty. Even non-salad eaters liked this one. I stuck to the recipe and was very happy with it. (I never understand when someone rates a recipe that they make significant changes to - please rate the recipe as is! If your changes are fabulous, submit the recipe on its own and then let us try it and review. Okay, I'm off my soapbox now.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I have made this about 4 times. Each and every time, someone asks for the recipe. This is a delicious and especially pretty at Christmas time with the green leafy spinach and red dried cranberries. Dried cranberries are very expensive when purchased in the grocery store. Buying a large quantity at Costco, Sams Club, etc saves money on this item; and the cranberries keep for so long on the shelf. Easy to make! Toasting the almonds is crucial for flavor - don't miss that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This salad really is as great as everyone says, although I used a different dressing... Try pureeing a cup of raspberries (frozen ones are fine!) with a tablespoon of sugar, 1/2 cup of peanut oil, a teaspoon of poppy seeds, and 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar for a light, fruity dressing. I also substituted walnuts for the almonds and added a good bit of feta cheese. (I never can stick to a recipe-- I can't help but personalize!) Overall, this is a GOOD salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Fantastic! The only changes I made is I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup, and the oil to 1/4 cup as well. I will be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I cut the sugar down to one tablespoon, and it was fine! I found the almonds to be too greasy, so the second time I made it I toasted them in a dry pan, and they tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I'm sure this salad was delicious, but I couldn't bring myself to make it as published, instead dressing it with something far less sweet. Since the sugar content isn't part of the nutritional info, you might find it enlightening to know that it contains a whopping 174 g (that's a full cup's worth) of sugar, or 2T per serving, assuming you used sweetened dried cranberries. If you managed to find unsweetened cranberries, you can reduce that figure to a "mere" 96 grams. Having as much or more sugar than your average cupcake qualifies it as more of a dessert. Because salads are typically thought of as healthy, you should know what your'e getting into with this one! Rating is for recipe as published, not with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I made this for a BBQ on an extremely hot day-very refreshing with a unique taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States