Jamie's Baked Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this recently for a Christmas Eve potluck and it was delish! I forgot my grocery list at home, so I improvised a bit. I also don't like vermouth, so I used a dry white wine (a cheap sauvignon blanc). I followed the directions up to using the phyllo dough. I used a sheet of puff pastry instead, and used toothpicks to hold the pastry together on top. After that, I used a quick spray of Pam on the top and sprinkled rosemary on it. Next time I make this, I will defnitely used the phyllo dough, as the puff pastry did not brown enough/get flaky enough for me. It's delicious! Give it a try! All of the ladies at the potluck asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Hints: Puff pastry sheets cut the prep time dramatically! You can sub the vermouth for wine or whatever floats your boat. I keep meaning to take pictures so this recipe gets more popular. It really is delicious. If anybody takes a pic, please upload!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was good! I could not get a shallot to save my life @ the grocery store, so I subbed green onion, which I thought worked out nicely. I am a lover of garlic, but I think if I make this again, I would cut back, as I thought it was a little too much. I wrapped mine in some crescent dough that needed to be used, perfect! I also had an issue cutting the top off while trying to leave a lip around the edge. Is there a trick to that, lol? I was able to make it work in the end, though. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Really good- I added a handful of chopped mushrooms and sauteed them with the shallot and garlic in a little olive oil before adding the vermouth and putting it on top of the brie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing. Everyone raved about this and asked for the recipe! I used white wine instead of vermouth and puff pastry, not phyllo. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is a little tricky but really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Better and easier with puff pastry and walnut-studded mango chutney on top of the brie. Wrap pastry up over top of brie and make a decoration on top with the folded up pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I modified this, but wanted to rate the combination of the savory ingredients with the Brie, which was excellent. The shallot, garlic, white pepper, and sauvignon blanc (no vermouth) sauteed together and baked over the Brie was wonderful. I used miniature phyllo pastry shells (baked on parchment paper unfilled for 5 minutes at 350), then put a small cube of Brie in each shell and topped the Brie cubes with small amounts of the sauteed shallot/garlic mixture, then baked at 300 for 4 minutes until the Brie melted. These little tartlets were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Aside from the phyllo being difficult to work with this is an easy recipe and a big hit. I used shallot and vermouth but I could see substituting a green onion and/or white wine. I cooked this on a flat stone so it was easy to slide onto a serving plate. Easily served a dozen guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States