Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My husband is a New Orleans native and constantly complains about people attempting to make "their cuisine". This one passed the test with flying colors! We had this two weeks ago and he is begging me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVARNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Excellent!! Just used olive oil, kielbasa, no file powder, and added some shrimp during the last 7 minutes. Since I added the shrimp, I used a full 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. Also seasoned with some thyme and fresh basil. Cooked rice separately, so skipped on the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Excellent! All I had on hand was Italian sausage and it was wonderful. I did need to add another can of tomatoes as there wasn't enough liquid for the rice to cook. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was very similar to my usual recipe I use for jambalaya. I have never used file powder and every batch turns out great. File is a thickening agent. Made a lot. Used Emeril's Kicked Up Smoked Sausage, which is pretty spicy. Also, I like cooking my rice separately and then incorporating into the jambalaya. You can do it either way -- I just like the texture of the rice better when cooking separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Easy to make and Yuuummmmy. I use to own a Cajun restaurant and this is as good as anything we use to make, but a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is an excellent Jambalaya recipe. I followed it to a tee, except a I added more spice than I should have. I like spicy foods, but I am a bit nervous to serve it tomorrow to my guests. The previous poster left great advice to go easy on the spices. File powder can be found in the baking aisle and is pronounced fee-lay (according to my grocer) Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Mmmm, mmmm! Very filling and delicious!! I made this for a French-themed banquet at my high school and it was a hit! The peanut oil was unneccessary because the sausages released plenty of fat. I eliminated the file powder (did not have) and hot sauce, and it was plenty spicy! Try adding thyme, basil and oregano. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T and it came out perfect. For those of you who are saying your rice didn't get done completely. Make sure you cover the pot and don't stir it once it's covered. As long as the heat isn't turned up too high you won't burn anything, just let it simmer with the lid on the pot for 20-25 minutes and the rice will be perfect. Also you are doing this dish a great injustice if you cook the rice separately. The whole purpose of putting it in with the rest of the ingredients is to flavor the rice, and you will not be able to do that if you cook it separately. Also if you can't find File powder you can always use Okra as a substitute, but you will need to cook this dish a lot longer to achieve the right consistency. I would say you would need to cook the Okra for at least 30 minutes with the rest of the ingredients before you add the rice. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I am told this is the best Jambalaya out there!! Such an ego boost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POISONPEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
My husband & I really enjoyed this dish. I used olive oil instead of peanut oil. Added prawns & ham and omitted the sausage as I couldn't get Andouille sausage in Australia. I added more cajun spice than specified and didn't have file powder. Will definatley be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZARDAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narre Warren, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States