Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
easy on the peppers if serving to kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Excellent! All I had on hand was Italian sausage and it was wonderful. I did need to add another can of tomatoes as there wasn't enough liquid for the rice to cook. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Pretty good jambalaya. I've tried this recipe a couple of times and it has turned out well. Be careful not to overcook the sausage or chicken in step 1. I tried to freeze some for lunches, but the rice became mushy on re-heating (maybe that's common with rice?) Might be good with shrimp as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I wish I could give this a 6!! This was delicious. The only time I've ever had jambalaya that compared to this was in a restaurant--and I think this is better. I did need a little more liquid than it called for. I added some pre-cooked shrimp a few minutes before serving and it was fabulous. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was very similar to my usual recipe I use for jambalaya. I have never used file powder and every batch turns out great. File is a thickening agent. Made a lot. Used Emeril's Kicked Up Smoked Sausage, which is pretty spicy. Also, I like cooking my rice separately and then incorporating into the jambalaya. You can do it either way -- I just like the texture of the rice better when cooking separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Took forever for all the liquid to absorb into the rice, so it ended up a little mushy. Next time I think I'll cook the rice separately. Either way, it tasted just GREAT, mushy or not! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Excellant recipe. Couple of minor changes to try. Used hot italian sausage & added a fresh red pepper. Also did not cook rice in sauce, did not use file powder & added a tablespoon of powdered chicken broth to the sauce instead of the prepared chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I WAS LOOKING FOR A RECIPE FOR CHICKEN AND FOUND THIS ONE. I HAD ALL THE INGREDIENTS IN MY KITCHEN AND DIDN'T HAVE TO GO OUT. IT WAS REAL EASY TO MAKE. EVERYONE ENJOYED IT.THE ONLY THING I CHANGE WAS THE RICE. I USED INSTANT INSTEAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICAKOSTER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I made this for the super bowl an it was wonderful an a great hit. They cleaned it up. Thank you Teri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Try a converted (par-boiled) long grain rice. Short or medium grain rice just will not work in jambalaya, it'll make it too gummy. As for file', I use that only in gumbo that does not have okra in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States