Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I didn't have file powder and didn't add the red pepper flakes and hot sauce... because I have small children and it was still plenty spicy but I did add extra celery and a pound of shrimp. Made sure I had a nice tight fitting lid and cooked on lowest burner setting and no problem with crunchy rice. Super Yum! Will def make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Yum! Use a 28 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes & brown rice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
One of the top 2 recipes I have gotten from this site! I made it exactly as written with the exception of using smoked sausage for the andouille (personal preference) and used no file powder. Make it TODAY!! Awesome jambalaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
It was great! I had to use a red onion instead but it tasted fine and I left out the celery because not a big fan of it but it was great. It makes a lot though so for a small family I'm gonna have leftovers for a while but that's fine. Very filling and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I served this to my husband and he raved about it so much at work one of his co-workers begged him to bring a sample, which he did. We ended up having a dinner date 3 nights later and I made this again. I ended up making this twice in 2 weeks that's how much my husband loved it! I always change ingredients to my family's tastes and this was no exception. I found a cajun seasoning recipe on this site and used that and omitted all the extra seasoning (red pepper flakes, salt, pepper) b/c it was already in the cajun mix. Recipes always turn out better for me if I taste as I go and adjust! This is one of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Delicious! I make this regularly and one of my boyfriend's favories. I went with some of the other reviewer's suggestions and use a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes and throw in some basil, thyme and oregano as well. I haven't been able to find the file powder but it doesn't seem to affect the recipe with it not being added. Definitely a yummy, filling meal that is just as good the second day as the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I make this all the time. The family LOVES it. I do add shrimp, but only because the kids get very upset if I don't. It really is perfect without it. I use rotisserie chicken in place of the chicken breast because it's easier on weeknights. Also, for special occasions I substitute alligator sausage for the andouille. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was really good. I didn't get a chance to take a picture of it because we ate it so fast. I didn't have andouille sausage so I used turkey, and also , I pureed all the veggies with a cup of broth (may family does not like veggies)...and I also used mild rotel tomatoes instead of adding salt, pepper, hot sauce, or red pepper flakes. Came out very tasty. I picked out all the jalepenos before pureeing, but it was still too spicy for my littlest one. next time I will not add any heat at all and have hot sauce on the table for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very good! I was looking for away to use up some stuff in the freezer so I used smoked sausage, a mix of chicken thighs and breasts and shrimp. Left out the hot sauce because of the kids :(. But it was still very good :). We will be having this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I tried this last night and my husband and I LOVED it! We are huge on spicy food and let me tell you, this was SPICY! I omitted the file powder because I did not have any, but it really didn't need it. The liquid will thicken on it's own after 20-25 minutes with the rice. I also added shrimp for the last 5-10 minutes, and it was perfect! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States