Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was outstanding! Easy to make and pretty fast. Left out the file powder, added kidney beans instead of chicken, used leftover chicken sausage. Also used half veggie broth half water instead. I did need to add more water/broth to have enough liquid for the rice to cook. Yum!!! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Labor intensive cooking ... but worth the effort. Good to cook on a Saturday or Sunday and store for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Super yummy, but the rice did not cook all the way. I left the lid on the entire time. Next time I will cook the rice separately in chicken stock and incorporate it when it's finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time ever also adding a 28oz can of crushe'd tomatoes but followed everything else to a tee. The whole family enjoyed this and wanted more. This makes a lot for generous portions. Yum I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabragg
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added shrimp and used diced tomatoes with garlic instead of crushed tomatoes. It was very spicy so I served it with a side of sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is excellent! Very flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very good! The amount of water is right - I thought it seemed high, the juices from all the other stuff might make it too soggy but instead the rice that ended up on top was a bit undercooked - MY fault. Follow the recipe. I used about half the tomato stuff too which also could have been the reason for that. I also put the lid on the giant pan/wok thing I was using during the simmer phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is great for serving a crowd. You can adjust the menu for as many as you like. If you are like me and cook for a large group it is great. The wonderful thing about this website is the ability to adjust the number of servings. Its worth a million to me. Les e le bonton roule !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it several times now. As with most recipes, I use it as a base, and modify it according to what I have on hand, and our tastes. I have never seen file powder, and haven't needed it as a thickening agent at all. I use whatever sausage I have on hand (usually a spiced chicken sausage), and don't always add another meat (chicken or shrimp). I also don't use any salt or pepper. The Club House Cajun seasoning I have on hand spices it up sufficiently. I also use that seasoning liberally, I don't measure...I also use a quinoa, sprouted and wild rice blend to up the healthy factor. I know I change a lot, but my recipe wouldn't be as good, without this one to give me guidance. So, thank you so much!! (I also pop in some mushrooms and use diced tomatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colleenq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great recipe, not hard to make at all. Alot of flavor and my family loved it. The only small changes that I made was I simmered seasoned chicken drumsticks with onion and celery until the meat was coming off the bone and the liquid was reduced into a rich chicken stock. I then took the meat of the bones (leave it in chunks, don't shred it) and used the chicken stock for the recipe. Also I omitted the Worchestersire altogether and used a little more seasoning and hot pepper sauce then the recipe called for because I like mine spicy. Overall very good, authentic recipe and I will make this time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinJosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States