Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Made and smoked some andouille sausage yesterday and was looking for a jambalaya recipe to try it in, this recipe was great. My husband kept telling me "This is a keeper". Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Fantastic! This was by far the best Jambalaya recipe. Followed this recipe exactly as it states with the exception of the file powder, didn't have any on hand and I used olive oil in place of the peanut oil. When added the rice I cooked it low and slow and added more chicken broth as needed. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made without the file and it turned out great. Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treyj1234
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I've made this multiple times without the file powder and Worcestershire sauce and it comes out great! I also add some jalapeños and get the crushed tomatoes with green chilies added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
What a great recipe. As per another review I used Joslyns Creole seasoning for the Cajun seasoning. After reading up on file powder I substituted 1tsp of cornstarch added to enough COLD water to cover and mixed until dissolved. I added this for the thickening. I have made this several time and have enjoyed it enough there were no left overs. I did substitute beef broth for the chicken once and it tasted equally as good. I do struggle with my rice sticking to my pan even on the lowest heat setting, but regular stirring helps, although it has a tendency to mush the rice a little. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used olive oil instead of peanut oil and just started the chicken cooking and added my precooked chicken andouille to it when it was mostly done and then removed both when done cooking and continued the recipe. For the Cajun seasoning, I used the recipe from here. And because of others input used 1/3 of a green pepper...and omitted the file because I couldn't find it in the store (I since have and will try it next time just to see). Other than that I followed the recipe. This was SO GOOD! We all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is excellent. I would give a standing ovation if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a very simple recipe that seems like you spent all day cooking. Great for this Fat Tuesday! Adjust spices to how hot you want it and add shrimp for variety! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Will definitely us it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed exact and was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PaPa C
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My go to recipe. Did I make changes? Sure! I believe recipes are like a AAA trip tic, it tells you how to get there, but not all the stops. Main change was 28 oz tomatoes. That's all I had. Simmered abut longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States