Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
oh my...this is wonderful. I tried to do 'as is' and did except I didn't have enough celery. I was doubling the recipe for company and only had 2 stalks (needed 4). So I used celery flakes for the rest of the celery. (1 tbsp celery flakes = 1 stalk celery, so says the 'net). I also kept the broth and rice separate because we never eat it all. I figure I can freeze the leftover sauce, making fresh rice for it at another meal. I served this to 7 guests today. I had few leftovers even after the doubling of the recipe. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this recipe and it was the bomb! I used brown rice instead to make it bit more healthy and I did not see that onions were in the recipe and put them in anyway but looking at it now I see that an onion was definitely required also used red and green bell peppers. My only issue which was my fault is that I used ;s what I had on hand had everything except white rice. Had Uncle Ben's instant brown rice which made the rice too soft. I just bought regular brown rice so that I can make it again. My friend and her two sons came by and ate plates full and my husband took leftovers to work my trainer said he liked it as well and if i thought there was a problem to please bring him my next batch that was supposed to be better than the one that I cooked the first time. Oh I must add that I used Knorrs chicken bouillon to make my chicken broth which made my flavor for my sauce even better because I make the broth to my taste that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I mixed this recipe with one I saw on foodwishes.com. The only difference that I made was I added 2 green onions, mushrooms, green beens and okra. Instead of the peanut oil I used olive oil and it was great! Loved this Jambalaya recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Great! Loved it. No File seasoning, no peanut oil (olive oil wrks fine), and we cooked the rice separate. Very simple to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Very easy to make and very good! The prep is what takes the most time. Excellent for an easy dinner, with a small salad and some French bread. I followed the recipe exactly and the amount of "heat" was perfect. The only thing I didn't have (and couldn't find in my local store) was the file powder. Will have to search for this online but my husband and I liked it just fine. Even some for leftovers, which he really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Very good! Easy to make and a big hit with my family. I used saved bacon grease to sauté veggies, garlic, and smoked sausage. For convenience I used some deboned rotisserie chicken instead of cooking my own. Didn't use file or pepper sauce (didn't have either). At the suggestion of others' comments I did add basil, oregano, and thyme to taste. Kept adding extra broth so the dish would have a stew like consistency and the rice could cook completely. Keep watching the last 10 minutes of the rice cooking and stir occasionally to keep from sticking and drying into a sticky blob. A thickener such as cornstarch or file isn't necessary if you cook the rice in the dish and not separately. I served this with hot buttermilk cornbread. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I didn't have file powder and didn't add the red pepper flakes and hot sauce... because I have small children and it was still plenty spicy but I did add extra celery and a pound of shrimp. Made sure I had a nice tight fitting lid and cooked on lowest burner setting and no problem with crunchy rice. Super Yum! Will def make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Yum! Use a 28 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes & brown rice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
One of the top 2 recipes I have gotten from this site! I made it exactly as written with the exception of using smoked sausage for the andouille (personal preference) and used no file powder. Make it TODAY!! Awesome jambalaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
It was great! I had to use a red onion instead but it tasted fine and I left out the celery because not a big fan of it but it was great. It makes a lot though so for a small family I'm gonna have leftovers for a while but that's fine. Very filling and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States