Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was very good! Very spicy, so beware. I did not use the file powder, and added some salad shrimp. I could only find chicken andouille sausage, but it was fabulous. I also cooked the rice separately, in 1/2 water 1/2 chicken stock for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I had not made jambalaya in years, so I decided to try this recipe. It is simply fantastic! This is just as good as one made without tomato. Reading reviews, I did do as advised, adding rotel ~ also browning center cut boneless pork to add to the meat ingredients. File' is important in the Deep South and it adds a deep richness to the dish. No added salt needed. I cook with red pepper, using black pepper only occasionally. Long grain rice was my grandmother's choice, but covering the pot while rice cooks is a must. I use short grain, which doesn't give quite the texture needed for authentic jambalaya , but does not change the flavor. The only other addition was green onions, about 15 mimutes before fully cooked. Any good sausage will do, in place of the andouille. The dish I grew up with was cooked with smoked sausage. Truly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Just finished making it.....OUTSTANDING! I can't have spice but I still like Jambalaya. I substituted smoked chicken sausage. I used petite diced tomatoes and they broke down during the simmer. Next time I will use shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was outstanding! Easy to make and pretty fast. Left out the file powder, added kidney beans instead of chicken, used leftover chicken sausage. Also used half veggie broth half water instead. I did need to add more water/broth to have enough liquid for the rice to cook. Yum!!! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Labor intensive cooking ... but worth the effort. Good to cook on a Saturday or Sunday and store for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Super yummy, but the rice did not cook all the way. I left the lid on the entire time. Next time I will cook the rice separately in chicken stock and incorporate it when it's finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time ever also adding a 28oz can of crushe'd tomatoes but followed everything else to a tee. The whole family enjoyed this and wanted more. This makes a lot for generous portions. Yum I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabragg
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added shrimp and used diced tomatoes with garlic instead of crushed tomatoes. It was very spicy so I served it with a side of sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is excellent! Very flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very good! The amount of water is right - I thought it seemed high, the juices from all the other stuff might make it too soggy but instead the rice that ended up on top was a bit undercooked - MY fault. Follow the recipe. I used about half the tomato stuff too which also could have been the reason for that. I also put the lid on the giant pan/wok thing I was using during the simmer phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States