Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed exact and was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PaPa C
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My goto recipe. Everyone loves it. Thank you'nn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trauma
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this for dinner last night and followed the recipe to a T except for leaving out the red pepper flakes and hot sauce due to children eating it. Flavor was excellent without the extra heat and everyone loved it. Besides, if you like it hotter you can always add hot sauce to your own serving. I did cook the rice separately in my rice cooker and served the dish over it, so I can't comment on what some reviewers say was too much liquid. I just adjusted the chicken broth amount down untill I had what I felt was a good consistency. I also added some okra and shrimp to the blend for a little healthier dish. This is definitely a keeper and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Really good, but quite watery initially (making rice a little soggy). (The recipe calls for as much water as you would use to cook rice normally, but the jambalaya sans rice/water added is already pretty liquidy.) If you're planning to make this in advance and freezing for dinner throughout the week this isn't a problem as it reheats REALLY well. Otherwise, I'd add the rice and start by adding half the water at first & increase from there. One other note,some people complained the rice wasn't cooked...once you add the rice, DO NOT uncover the pot. For those that want to keep looking at it, get a pot with a glass lid. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Will definitely make this again. However, my first attempt came out WAY to salty. I would recommend cutting back or eliminating the salt until you've tasted your final result - then add to taste. The brand of Cajun you use makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is an excellent EXCELLENT recipe. I'm not a very experienced cook and I definitely impressed the crowd! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love Cajun food but it's hard to find in Upper Mich. I've used several other recipes for jambalaya. This by is far the best. My gf does not like spicy food but really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was very good! Very spicy, so beware. I did not use the file powder, and added some salad shrimp. I could only find chicken andouille sausage, but it was fabulous. I also cooked the rice separately, in 1/2 water 1/2 chicken stock for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I had not made jambalaya in years, so I decided to try this recipe. It is simply fantastic! This is just as good as one made without tomato. Reading reviews, I did do as advised, adding rotel ~ also browning center cut boneless pork to add to the meat ingredients. File' is important in the Deep South and it adds a deep richness to the dish. No added salt needed. I cook with red pepper, using black pepper only occasionally. Long grain rice was my grandmother's choice, but covering the pot while rice cooks is a must. I use short grain, which doesn't give quite the texture needed for authentic jambalaya , but does not change the flavor. The only other addition was green onions, about 15 mimutes before fully cooked. Any good sausage will do, in place of the andouille. The dish I grew up with was cooked with smoked sausage. Truly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States