Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was delicious! Except my rice never fully cooked. I followed the directions to a T. I will definitely make this again, except after I add the rice and chicken broth I will cover the pot so the rice can steam and fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weslie Green
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to alter the recipe based on what I had in the pantry. What I ended up with was great. I cut the recipe in half and cut out all seasonings except for the Cajun seasoning. I used one can of Tomatoes with green chilies vs listed one. I also substituted all of the remaining ingredients and the rice for one bag of Spanish rice. I found that the dish was dry so I added the entire can of tomatoes with green chilies (would have called for 1/2 since the recipe was halved) to compensate. Nice recipe, I think I will make again just the way I did tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe has gotten a permanent place in our rotation - it is soooo good. I add more celery and onion and about half again as much of the andouille and its perfect every time. I think the file powder adds an authentic flavor that is worth adding if you can find it at your grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kim.payne@icloud.com
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Wow! This was soooooo yummy and easy to prepare. I made it the first time for a small dinner party and it was a hit. The little bit of leftovers the next day heated up nicely and tasted terrific. You cannot not go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was super delicious! Even my super picky boyfriend liked it! I did not use the file powder, but just cooked it a little longer and it was not runny. I also used the whole can of crushed tomatoes. I will make this again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I've always been a Zataran's fan (boxed meals, shameful, I know, but that's what you eat when you're in college) but I really wanted to try making this on my own. This is a great recipe! I've made it a few times, now, and haven't even thought of the boxed stuff since (sorry, Zataran's. We had our time. And it was a good time. But I've moved on.)! Definitely COOK THE RICE SEPARATELY (I use the chicken broth in the rice). For one, it keeps the sausage from getting rubbery (I use kielbasa). Secondly, it keeps it all from getting too mushy. Also, I've never used file powder, but it still turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Terrific with Trader Joe's Chicken Andoullie Sausages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was very easy and delicious. I will be making again soon. I may add shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I loved this recipe! Can't make it enough! Don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Delicious! To suit our tastes, we use chicken and ham and shrimp, no sausage. We halve all the "spicy" spices, and double the crushed tomatoes. We cook the rice in a rice cooker on the side. Thanks for all the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States