Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by bikeaholic
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I really like this recipe. My family doesn't enjoy peppers & onions so I usually make this for myself when they go out of town and I eat on it for a week! I add a red bell pepper because I like the added color. I prefer to serve the jambalaya on a bed of rice rather than put the rice in the jambalaya, so I omit the chicken broth altogether and use a 24 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and an additional 12 oz. can of diced tomatoes with green chilis. Without the broth, the heat is a little more intense so if you modify like this and don't like too much heat, you should reduce the amount of spice. All in all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I used brown rice and cooked it separately then combined it with the vegetables and meats to which I had added about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We r from new Orleans and we LOVE this recipe! I don't use the file'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe, absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I follow this recipe as it is written, only I use brown rice instead of white. It takes longer to simmer (about an hour), but it healthier. I also use less oil in the beginning, because the sausage provides plenty of fat. Finally, I do not take the sausage or chicken out of the pot, just add the veggies in and it works out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My husband loves this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
A family favorite! All three kids (4-12 years old) love jambalaya nigh - as do the adults. This makes great leftovers for lunches during the week at work. The spices are a great mix in this recipe. We cut down on them a touch for two of our kids, but the third likes it spicy! He actually adds more tabasco! We play around with adding more veggies and switching out the meats based on what we have on hand. Currently using Jenny'O turkey kielbasa with/without chicken and/or shrimp. We always use brown rice - that's all we buy - and it still tastes great. Excellent recipe - has the honor of being in our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banyan99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good flavor. Followed the recipe exact except for the file powder. Coudn't find it at the local market. So I substituted with a teaspoon of corn starch. Family thought it was good as well, however, the kids thought it had a little to much heat. Next time I'll back of the heat some for the kids sake. :) I will be making this dish again... Very tasty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thanks Terri for a great recipe. Very tasty and just the right amount of spice. You can always add some hot sauce at the table. Used canola oil instead of peanut oil, but that didn't change anything. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent. Great flavor - spiced it up a bit to taste, but all in all, wonderful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States