Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have been a Cajun cook for years... this is the most accurate depiction of how to do this Jambalaya I have seen. Simple and to the point, the flavors speak for themselves. I also fried up some smoked bacon once... and that was an added bonus. Not very traditional, but effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great dish! No variations really, just omitted the red pepper flakes and used a bit more creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latoya Goree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent, this is one recipe I truly CRAVE when it's been too long. This is SPICY, go easy on the hot peppers--you can always add more later if it's not spicy enough for you! I also added thyme and oregano. Oh and I know adding sour cream isn't proper cajun, but adding some at the table will tone down the spiciness if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was great! I used chicken sausage instead of chicken and andouille sausage, and also added shrimp. Omitted salt, and instead of file powder I used about 1 c. of cut okra to thicken the stew. I also used brown rice. This was a flavorful recipe, and ,ade a very good jumbalaya. It's easy to play around from here (like with your own spices, okra vs. no okra, etc), and I liked being able to customize my proteins and rice -- if you use brown rice, go for short grain, and make sure to account for the longer cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Absolutely awesome! I added shrimp with the same spices. Then added in a tsp of thyme, tsp of cayenne pepper and a half tbs of dried chives. Also reduced the broth by half a cup. We like it hot! So if you're cooking for kids resuce the heat on it. Love love loved it! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
my guys said it was "hot as fire" but they also loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bikeaholic
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I really like this recipe. My family doesn't enjoy peppers & onions so I usually make this for myself when they go out of town and I eat on it for a week! I add a red bell pepper because I like the added color. I prefer to serve the jambalaya on a bed of rice rather than put the rice in the jambalaya, so I omit the chicken broth altogether and use a 24 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and an additional 12 oz. can of diced tomatoes with green chilis. Without the broth, the heat is a little more intense so if you modify like this and don't like too much heat, you should reduce the amount of spice. All in all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I used brown rice and cooked it separately then combined it with the vegetables and meats to which I had added about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We r from new Orleans and we LOVE this recipe! I don't use the file'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe, absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States