Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Terrific with Trader Joe's Chicken Andoullie Sausages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was very easy and delicious. I will be making again soon. I may add shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I loved this recipe! Can't make it enough! Don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Delicious! To suit our tastes, we use chicken and ham and shrimp, no sausage. We halve all the "spicy" spices, and double the crushed tomatoes. We cook the rice in a rice cooker on the side. Thanks for all the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I had to double this for my large family, which was easy to do. I couldn't find file powder, so that is the only ingredient missing. I did add shrimp in the last 10 minutes of cooking. Turned out great. Every one loved it!!! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afrika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Just the right amount of heat. Everyone loved it. I will have to double it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Left out the file powder and celery and replaced green pepper for a red pepper. Awesome! An easy 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was simple amazing . No I do not come from Louisana. I am not an expert. I came across a really good andouille a while back pulled a link from the freezer. There was some file in the pantry and I made the Cajun spice from about.com from the other spices in my pantry (Penzy's is like a candy store to me). This had a real depth of flavor, some heat ... Just enough. I did add some chopped shrimps at the end. I also cut the recipe for two and found I needed to add some water a couple of times which extended the cooking time. Not a fault of the recipe.. I can cook a great pot of fluffy rice in 20 minutes or a smooth creamy rissoto in 35. I have never mastered the art of cooking rice with other ingredients like this recipe. Someday I will. But this was really really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I do love this recipe -- I serve the rice separate. But none of the recipes I read have okra as an ingredient. To me, you HAVE to add okra -- that is the only change I made! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The first time I made this recipe the rice was too mushy, after adjusting the liquid to rice ratio (basically the same ratio I use for all my Puertorican rice dishes) it was 100 percent better. Didn't use the file powder, instead I used 50/50 (whole tomato and tomato puree), to keep the salt content low, and added shrimp at the last 5 minutes of cooking (to prevent the shrimp from being rubbery). I had great reviews from people except from the wife (she doesn't care for shellfish). The second time I made it, without the shrimp, the wife loved it. I say be creative and add a little fish sauce for those who don't like shrimp or seafood. (The third time I made this dish poured a little fish sauce and the wife didn't notice the difference) This is an awesome dish and well worth the time making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Slow_Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States