Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was very similar to my usual recipe I use for jambalaya. I have never used file powder and every batch turns out great. File is a thickening agent. Made a lot. Used Emeril's Kicked Up Smoked Sausage, which is pretty spicy. Also, I like cooking my rice separately and then incorporating into the jambalaya. You can do it either way -- I just like the texture of the rice better when cooking separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I WAS LOOKING FOR A RECIPE FOR CHICKEN AND FOUND THIS ONE. I HAD ALL THE INGREDIENTS IN MY KITCHEN AND DIDN'T HAVE TO GO OUT. IT WAS REAL EASY TO MAKE. EVERYONE ENJOYED IT.THE ONLY THING I CHANGE WAS THE RICE. I USED INSTANT INSTEAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICAKOSTER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Excellent! All I had on hand was Italian sausage and it was wonderful. I did need to add another can of tomatoes as there wasn't enough liquid for the rice to cook. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I wish I could give this a 6!! This was delicious. The only time I've ever had jambalaya that compared to this was in a restaurant--and I think this is better. I did need a little more liquid than it called for. I added some pre-cooked shrimp a few minutes before serving and it was fabulous. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I made this for the super bowl an it was wonderful an a great hit. They cleaned it up. Thank you Teri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Excellant recipe. Couple of minor changes to try. Used hot italian sausage & added a fresh red pepper. Also did not cook rice in sauce, did not use file powder & added a tablespoon of powdered chicken broth to the sauce instead of the prepared chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This was a great jambalya! You might omit the hot sauce if you don't like your food very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This was sooo good. don't be afraid to experiment - I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand, so I used olive oil rather than peanut, onion flakes and jarred garlic rather than real; I also left out the andouille, celery, pepper, worcestershire and file. I ended up adding italian seasoning and more red peppers and cajun seasoning to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This is a fantastic, idiot-proof recipe! I'm sometimes a disaster in the kitchen, and this jambalaya turned out perfectly. I added shrimp, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Thanks, Terri, for the fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Mighty tasty!! Great recipe! I used a little extra cajun seasoning and hot sauce, and used Uncle Ben's converted rice. I also used thighs vs. breasts. I will make this again as soon as I get more fresh andouille from the local sausage shop. Can't wait to share this in the work lunch room. Made it again and the eaters raved about it. They all want the recipe. This is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States