Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is a easy and great meal. Everyone enjoyed this. I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Amazing! My family is STILL raving about it. Even my little sister, who is picky, thinks this jambalaya is amazing. I added shrimp since that's my favorite part of other jambalayas I've had in the past. After sauteing the chicken and andouille sausage I sauteed the shrimp in the olive oil and Cajun seasoning as well and set it aside, adding it back in 5 minutes before the jambalaya was done. I was worried about rice being fully cooked because of previous reviews so I used Minute brown rice and let it simmer until done, which took maybe 12-15 minutes (I added a little extra rice to sop up some of the extra liquid since I did not have file powder to use as a thickening agent). Absolutely amazing recipe and definitely going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This made a very good and satisfying dinner. We prefer Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya to this one, and don’t think the flavor advantage is caused by the chicken in this recipe versus the shrimp in the other one but will have to test that out. Could not find file powder at grocer so it was omitted. We used 1, 12 oz. pack (4 sausages) Aidells Cajun Style Andouille sausage. Added two fresh jalapenos, thinly sliced, and combined w/ onion & celery. For Cajun seasoning, we used 2 tablespoons Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn from this site to season the sausage and chicken. We subbed brown rice for white, and increased cooking time in step 3 to about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
First time making this and it was awesome, added some extra spice but it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Great. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I "kinda sorta" followed the recipe. I used all ingredients per quantities but did it a bit easier. I sauteed the vegetables, then added the sausage & chicken (with the Cajun seasoning). When chicken was cooked, I added the remaining ingredients, brought it to a boil, then reduced heat, covered & simmered until rice was done & liquid was absorbed. It was delicious and so much easier than following the directions as written. Also, at the end, I stirred in 1/2-lb cooked shrimp & heated through. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this recipe for the second time, I omitted the file powder and cooked 1 cup of white rice and added it after the canned tomatoes. The texture seemed to come out better and I added 1 tbs of butter to the rice to give it a nice buttery flavor. I'll make this again, just a little differently :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T and it came out perfect. For those of you who are saying your rice didn't get done completely. Make sure you cover the pot and don't stir it once it's covered. As long as the heat isn't turned up too high you won't burn anything, just let it simmer with the lid on the pot for 20-25 minutes and the rice will be perfect. Also you are doing this dish a great injustice if you cook the rice separately. The whole purpose of putting it in with the rest of the ingredients is to flavor the rice, and you will not be able to do that if you cook it separately. Also if you can't find File powder you can always use Okra as a substitute, but you will need to cook this dish a lot longer to achieve the right consistency. I would say you would need to cook the Okra for at least 30 minutes with the rest of the ingredients before you add the rice. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Fantastic! Thick, spicy, hearty; it's the perfect soup for a dreary winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I added shrimp and a little bacon. Really tasty and just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States