Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used olive oil instead of peanut oil and just started the chicken cooking and added my precooked chicken andouille to it when it was mostly done and then removed both when done cooking and continued the recipe. For the Cajun seasoning, I used the recipe from here. And because of others input used 1/3 of a green pepper...and omitted the file because I couldn't find it in the store (I since have and will try it next time just to see). Other than that I followed the recipe. This was SO GOOD! We all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is excellent. I would give a standing ovation if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a very simple recipe that seems like you spent all day cooking. Great for this Fat Tuesday! Adjust spices to how hot you want it and add shrimp for variety! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Will definitely us it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed exact and was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PaPa C
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My go to recipe. Did I make changes? Sure! I believe recipes are like a AAA trip tic, it tells you how to get there, but not all the stops. Main change was 28 oz tomatoes. That's all I had. Simmered abut longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trauma
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this for dinner last night and followed the recipe to a T except for leaving out the red pepper flakes and hot sauce due to children eating it. Flavor was excellent without the extra heat and everyone loved it. Besides, if you like it hotter you can always add hot sauce to your own serving. I did cook the rice separately in my rice cooker and served the dish over it, so I can't comment on what some reviewers say was too much liquid. I just adjusted the chicken broth amount down untill I had what I felt was a good consistency. I also added some okra and shrimp to the blend for a little healthier dish. This is definitely a keeper and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Really good, but quite watery initially (making rice a little soggy). (The recipe calls for as much water as you would use to cook rice normally, but the jambalaya sans rice/water added is already pretty liquidy.) If you're planning to make this in advance and freezing for dinner throughout the week this isn't a problem as it reheats REALLY well. Otherwise, I'd add the rice and start by adding half the water at first & increase from there. One other note,some people complained the rice wasn't cooked...once you add the rice, DO NOT uncover the pot. For those that want to keep looking at it, get a pot with a glass lid. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Will definitely make this again. However, my first attempt came out WAY to salty. I would recommend cutting back or eliminating the salt until you've tasted your final result - then add to taste. The brand of Cajun you use makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is an excellent EXCELLENT recipe. I'm not a very experienced cook and I definitely impressed the crowd! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States