Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Great recipe! I get a little nervous when I see crushed red pepper and hot sauce. This recipe has just the right amount of kick but still has several other flavors bursting out. I make it with diced tomatoes instead of crushed but I make no other changes. Okay, one other change, jasmine rice because thats all I keep on hand. Next time, I will try some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anchovy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bexley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have never had Jambalaya prior to trying a few recipes. We made a huge pot of this, some to freeze for later. We added shrimp. word of caution, portion control is impossible for me and this recipe. It is so addictive to my taste buds. The taste, texture, spice all work together. Nice to come home, reheat and eat :) Ps, favorite recipe I have found- period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We love Jambalaya and this was pretty good. I added extra heat by adding sambal olek and we always have hot sauce on the table for those who like it even spicier! The great thing a about this recipe is that if you like more veg you can add it! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Jambalaya Haiku: "Dis is smokin' great. I only made two changes, very slight, all good!" No file powder (have always been told that it's something you sprinkle on at serving; otherwise, it can just settle in a hot pot and become stringy), and I cooked the rice separately so that we didn't have to worry about possible smooshy, or crunchy, rice, and we just spooned into our jambalaya how much we wanted. Really amazing and can't wait to fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Made and smoked some andouille sausage yesterday and was looking for a jambalaya recipe to try it in, this recipe was great. My husband kept telling me "This is a keeper". Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Fantastic! This was by far the best Jambalaya recipe. Followed this recipe exactly as it states with the exception of the file powder, didn't have any on hand and I used olive oil in place of the peanut oil. When added the rice I cooked it low and slow and added more chicken broth as needed. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made without the file and it turned out great. Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treyj1234
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I've made this multiple times without the file powder and Worcestershire sauce and it comes out great! I also add some jalapeños and get the crushed tomatoes with green chilies added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
What a great recipe. As per another review I used Joslyns Creole seasoning for the Cajun seasoning. After reading up on file powder I substituted 1tsp of cornstarch added to enough COLD water to cover and mixed until dissolved. I added this for the thickening. I have made this several time and have enjoyed it enough there were no left overs. I did substitute beef broth for the chicken once and it tasted equally as good. I do struggle with my rice sticking to my pan even on the lowest heat setting, but regular stirring helps, although it has a tendency to mush the rice a little. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States